Stay Connected with Duke Athletics
Uploaded Ad
Uploaded Ad
article image
Courtesy: WNBA Photo
Chelsea Gray
WNBA All-Star Action to Kick-Off for Gray on Friday
Courtesy: Duke Sports Information
Release: 07/26/2018
BDN+ Premium Content
Related Links

MINNEAPOLIS, Minn. – Duke University graduate and current member of the Los Angeles Sparks of the WNBA, Chelsea Gray, will kick off her second straight WNBA All-Star weekend Friday in Minneapolis, Minn.

The WNBA will feature live-streaming of practice from 2-4 p.m. (ET) Friday. The Orange Carpet show will follow, with team captains discussing the starting lineups at 9 p.m. (ET) on ESPN2.

The All-Star Game will be broadcasted on ABC the next day, Saturday, July 28 at 3:30 p.m. (ET). Saturday’s game will mark Gray’s second straight All-Star appearance and the 10th all-time for a former Blue Devil.

Through 26 games, Gray is averaging 14.5 points, 5.3 assists, 3.3 rebounds, and 1.5 steals for the Sparks. She currently ranks fourth in the league in the assists department, while her output of steals is good for fifth. Her 32.0 minutes per game and 41.5 percent from downtown also represent top-15 marks in the WNBA at eighth and 12th-best, respectively.

This year’s game will feature a new format in 2018. Candace Parker of the Los Angeles Sparks and Elena Delle Done of the Washington Mystics were tabbed captains and selected each of the teams from the 22 All-Stars chosen. The 2018 production will feature extensive access to the players, coaches, locker rooms and benches.

Also competing with Gray on Team Parker will be Rebekkah Brunson (Minnesota Lynx), Liz Cambage (Dallas Wings), Tina Charles (New York Liberty), Skylar Diggins-Smith (Dallas Wings), Jewell Loyd (Seattle Storm), Angel McCoughtry (Atlanta Dream), Maya Moore (Minnesota Lynx), Chiney Ogwumike (Connecticut Sun), Nneka Ogwumike (Los Angeles Sparks), and Allie Quigley (Chicago Sky).

On the other end of the floor, Team Delle Donne will feature Seimone Augustus (Minnesota Lynx), Sue Bird (Seattle Storm), DeWanna Bonner (Phoenix Mercury), Sylvia Fowles (Minnesota Lynx), Brittney Griner (Phoenix Mercury), Kayla McBride (Las Vegas Aces), Breanna Stewart (Seattle Storm), Diana Taurasi (Phoenix Mercury), Kristi Toliver (Washington Mystics), and A’ja Wilson (Las Vegas Aces).

Following the conclusion of the All-Star break, regular season action will resume Tuesday, July 31.