Stay Connected with Duke Athletics
Uploaded Ad
Uploaded Ad
article image
Courtesy: Duke Athletics
Sixth-Ranked Duke Men Go 4-1 Overall Saturday
Courtesy: Duke Sports Information
Release: 02/09/2019
BDN+ Premium Content
Related Links

DURHAM, N.C. – The sixth-ranked Duke men’s fencing team took the strips Saturday to open competition at the annual Duke Meet in Card Gymnasium. The Blue Devil men posted a 4-1 overall ledger as the foil squad tallied a perfect 5-0 showing.

The men defeated the Air Force (18-9) and Johns Hopkins (22-5), as well as ACC foes North Carolina (19-8) and Boston College (19-8) to close out the regular season prior to the ACC Championships at the end of February. The Blue Devils’ only loss came to fourth-ranked Penn State (15-12).

Junior Eoin Gronningsater and sophomore Brycen Rushing dominated the strips for the foil squad as the posted nearly flawless records of 8-1 and 11-1, respectively. Gronningsater now owns 42 wins on the season while Rushing has totaled 45.

After being tabbed ACC Fencer of the Week following his performance at the Northwestern Duals, sophomore saberist Ping Ping Kitsiriboon helped to lead the saber team to a 4-1 showing with 10 victories while San Ha Lim also added 10 wins on the day. Kitsiriboon has 45 victories this campaign.

The epeeists were led by 2018 ACC gold medalist Bryn Hammarberg with nine wins, followed by Amit Sarma with nine victories as well. Hammarberg owns 41 wins during the 2019 season.

Sunday’s portion of the Duke Meet will feature the sixth-ranked women’s competition, scheduled to begin at 8 a.m., in Card Gymnasium.

A complete list of the men’s results can be found below.


DUKE MEN (4-1)
No. 6 Duke def. Air Fore 18-9
No. 6 Duke def. North Carolina 19-8
No. 6 Duke def. Boston College 19-8
No. 6 Duke def. Johns Hopkins 22-5
No. 4 Penn State def. No. 6 Duke 15-12

MEN’S FOIL (5-0)
Brycen Rushing 11-1
Eoin Gronningsater 8-1
Austin Li 4-8
Jonathan Schwartzman 3-4
Alan Ko 2-2

San Ha Lim 10-1
Ping Ping Kitsiriboon 10-5
Ben Stone 9-2
Duncan De Caire 4-4

MEN’S EPEE (3-2)
Bryn Hammarberg 9-3
Amit Sarma 9-5
Aidan McGinnis 5-2
Joe Choo 5-7