Stay Connected with Duke Athletics
Uploaded Ad
Uploaded Ad
article image
Courtesy: Duke Athletics
RJ, Zion Honored at College Basketball Awards Show
Courtesy: Duke Sports Information
Release: 04/12/2019
BDN+ Premium Content
Related Links

LOS ANGELES, Calif. – Duke men’s basketball freshmen standouts Zion Williamson and RJ Barrett continued their collection of postseason hardware Friday night in Los Angeles with Williamson being named the 2019 winner of the John R. Wooden Player of the Year, and each collecting national position awards.

With the acceptance of the Wooden Award presented by the Los Angeles Athletic Club during the annual College Basketball Awards Show on ESPN, Williamson sweeps the six major Player of the Year Awards recognized by the NCAA for the 2019 season: the Wooden, Naismith, NABC, Oscar Robertson, AP and Basketball Times.

He is the first to sweep the six awards since Wisconsin’s Frank Kaminsky in 2015, and the 21st player nationally to do so since 1982. The Blue Devils have accounted for four of the occurrences with Williamson (2019), J.J. Redick (2006), Jason Williams (2002) and Christian Laettner (1992).

Duke now has six Wooden Awards to the program’s credit, two more than North Carolina for the most all-time. Williamson is Duke’s first winner since Redick in 2006. Only two previous freshmen have hoisted the Wooden trophy – Texas’ Kevin Durant in 2007 and Kentucky’s Anthony Davis in 2012.

Williamson was also presented to the Karl Malone Award as the nation’s top power forward, while Barrett was named the Jerry West Award winner as the nation’s best shooting guard. The Malone Award and West Award are two of the four national position awards given by the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame and also handed out during the College Basketball Awards Show.

Williamson becomes Duke’s first winner of the Karl Malone Award, which was first presented in 2015. Freshmen have now won it in back-to-back years with Arizona’s DeAndre Ayton winning last season.

Barrett is Duke’s first winner of the Jerry West Award, also first named in 2015. Three of the six winners of this award have been freshmen with Ohio State’s DeAngelo Russell in 2015 and Kentucky’s Malik Monk in 2017.

Barrett and Williamson capped the remarkable season as consensus first-team All-Americans -- the first time in NCAA history a pair of freshman teammates accomplish the feat. The historic duo also became the first freshman teammates in NCAA history to each average 20 points in a season, as they finished tied for the ACC lead at 22.6 points per game each.

They helped lead Duke to the final AP No. 1 ranking, a 32-6 record, the program's 21st ACC Championship and a spot in the Elite Eight.