Stay Connected with Duke Athletics
Uploaded Ad
Uploaded Ad
Uploaded Ad
article image
Courtesy: Duke Athletics
Swimming & Diving Places 12 on All-ACC Academic Teams
Courtesy: Duke Sports Information
Release: 05/01/2019
BDN+ Premium Content
Related Links

DURHAM, N.C. – The Duke swimming and diving program added another milestone to an already historic 2018-19 season with a program-record 12 Blue Devils selected to the All-ACC Academic Team, as announced by the conference office Wednesday.

The quartet of seniors Judd Howard, Evan Moretti and Mackenzie Willborn and junior Nathaniel Hernandez headlined the group with their third career All-Academic accolades, respectively. Seniors Hunter Aitchison and Max St. George earned spots on the squad for the second time while seniors Maddie Hess and Mickayla Hinkle, junior Alyssa Marsh, sophomore Halle Morris and freshmen Melissa Pish and Maddi Pullinger were first time All-ACC Academic selections.

Aitchison, Hernandez, Hess, Marsh, Moretti, Morris and Pish received All-America and All-ACC Academic Team recognition in 2019 while Moretti and Pullinger were All-ACC and All-Academic selections.

Eleven of the ACC’s swimming and diving programs were represented on the All-Academic Team, with Louisville’s Mallory Comerford and NC State’s Andreas Vazaios taking home ACC Scholar-Athlete of the Year accolades. Duke’s eight All-Academic selections on the women’s side marked the third most of any conference team.

Minimum academic requirements for selection to the All-ACC Academic Team are a 3.0 grade point average for the previous semester and a 3.0 cumulative average during one’s academic career. Athletic achievements during the most recent season are also considered in selecting the All-ACC Academic Team.

The Duke men's and women's swimming and diving programs have combined for 95 All-ACC Academic Team selections since the award's inception in 2007.

2019 All-ACC Academic Swimming and Diving Teams – Duke Selections
Name (Year) Major
Hunter Aitchison (Sr), Neuroscience @
Nathaniel Hernandez (Jr), Biology #
Maddie Hess (Sr), Psychology
Mickayla Hinkle (Sr), Biology
Judd Howard (Sr), Economics #
Alyssa Marsh (Jr), Political Science
Evan Moretti (Sr), Public Policy #
Halle Morris (So), Sociology
Melissa Pish (Fr), Undeclared
Maddi Pullinger (Fr), Undeclared
Max St. George (Sr), Economics @
Mackenzie Willborn (Sr), Biomedical Engineering #

@ Two-time honoree
# Three-time honoree