article image
Courtesy: Duke Athletics
Four Blue Devil Men Named to All-ACC Academic Team
Courtesy: Duke Sports Information
Release: 04/20/2017
BDN+ Premium Content
Related Links

GREENSBORO, N.C. – Four Duke student-athletes were tabbed to the 2017 All-ACC Academic Men’s Indoor Track & Field Team, as announced by the conference Thursday.

The Blue Devils that received the honor were graduate student Daniel Golubovic, senior Connor Hall, junior Colt Sessions and sophomore Rivers Ridout. 2017 marks the second year Hall has earned a spot on the academic team, while Golubovic, Ridout and Sessions secure their first career selection.

Minimum academic requirements for selection to the All-ACC Academic Team are a 3.0 grade point average for the previous semester and a 3.0 cumulative average during one’s academic career. Athletic achievements during the most recent season are also considered in selecting the All-ACC Academic Team. Every member of the 2017 All-ACC Men’s Track and Field Academic Team earned All-America and/or All-ACC honors, scored points for his team at the ACC Indoor Championships or was selected as an ACC Performer of the Week during the regular season.

The ACC Honor Roll, which recognizes all conference student-athletes with a grade point average of 3.0 for the current academic year, will be released in July.


The complete 2017 All-ACC Men’s Indoor Track and Field Academic Team:

Name, School                                                             Class              Major 

Terrell Jackson, Clemson                                          Fr.                   Pre-Business

Daniel Golubovic, Duke                                            Gr.                   Masters of Management

Connor Hall, Duke                                                      Sr.                   Environmental Science

Rivers Ridout, Duke                                                   So.                   Psychology

Colt Sessions, Duke                                                    Jr.                    Economics

Humberto Freire, Florida State                                Fr.                   Exploratory

Jamal Pitts, Florida State                                           Gr.                   Masters – Geographic Info. Science

Sam Costa, Georgia Tech                                           Fr.                   BSBA

Preston Smith, Georgia Tech                                    Jr.                    BSBA

Andreas Ward, Georgia Tech                                    Jr.                    Mechanical Engineering

Marcus Jegede, Louisville                                         Jr.                    Sport Administration

Oliver Newport, Louisville                                       Jr.                    Accounting

Daniel Polinski, Miami                                              Jr.-r                 Computer Engineering

Myles Valentine, Miami                                            So.                   Broadcast Journalism/Sports Admin.

RJ Alowonle, North Carolina                                Sr.                   Business Administration

Darryl Shaw, North Carolina                                    So.                   Undeclared

Josh Davis, NC State                                                   Sr.                   Business

Elijah Moskowitz, NC State                                       Fr.                   Biological Sciences

George Parsons, NC State                                           Sr.                   Business

Matthew Birzer, Notre Dame                                    So.                   Business Analytics

Jacob Dumford, Notre Dame                                    Sr.                   Computer Science

Logan Kusky, Notre Dame                                        Fr.                   Computer Science

Christopher Marco, Notre Dame                              Sr.                   Finance

Patrick O’Connell, Notre Dame                                Jr.                    Mechanical Engineering

Nathan Richartz, Notre Dame                                   Sr.                   Marketing/Philosophy

Ryan Schweizer, Notre Dame                                   Fr.                   Undeclared

Drake Stimson, Notre Dame                                     Jr.                    Marketing

Illiass Aouani, Syracuse                                            Jr.                    Engineering

Adam Palamar, Syracuse                                           Sr.                   Biology

Zach Herriott, Virginia                                               Sr.                   Educational Psychology

Jefferey Jernigan, Virginia                                         Sr.                   Aerospace Engineering

Jack Lint, Virginia                                                       Jr.                    Computer Science

Filip Mihaljevic, Virginia                                          Sr.                   Environmental Sciences

Chase Weaverling, Virginia                                       Jr.                    Mechanical Engineering

Aaron Worrell, Virginia                                             Sr.                   Biology

Henry Wynne, Virginia                                              Sr.                   Economics

Kevin Cianfarini, Virginia Tech                                Jr.                    Computer Science

Vincent Ciattei, Virginia Tech                                   Sr.                   Engineering Science & Mechanics

Daniel Jaskowak, Virginia Tech                               Sr.                   HNFE

Torben Laidig, Virginia Tech                                    Jr.-r                 Biochemistry/Biology

Mackenzie Muldoon, Virginia Tech                        Jr.                    HNFE

Drew Piazza, Virginia Tech                                       Sr.                   Civil Engineering

James Steck, Virginia Tech                                        Sr.                   Creative Writing & Lit./Language

Peter Seufer, Virginia Tech                                        Fr.                   Economics

Diego Zarate, Virginia Tech                                      So.                   Criminology

Robert Heppenstall, Wake Forest                            So.                   Communication

Charlie Ionata, Wake Forest                                      Sr.                   Sociology


2017 ACC Indoor Track & Field Scholar-Athlete of the Year:  Torben Laidig, Virginia Tech



To remove your e-mail address from our mailing list, please click on Customer Care and select Remove From Mailing List from the Area of Interest list and specify your e-mail address. Note: This does not apply to opt-in e-mail. To modify your opt-in e-mail deliveries, log in to the site and modify your preferences. Customer Care