article image
Courtesy: Duke Athletics
Eaton, Smalley Named Honorable Mention All-America
Courtesy: Duke Sports Information
Release: 06/21/2018
BDN+ Premium Content
Related Links

DURHAM, N.C. – The Division I PING All-America Teams were named Thursday afternoon, and two Blue Devils were among the list of student-athletes honored.

Junior Alex Smalley and sophomore Chandler Eaton were both named honorable mention All-America after serving as mainstays at the top of almost every statistical category for Duke in the 2017-18 campaign.

Earning a spot on the All-ACC Team earlier this season, Smalley was also bestowed with PING All-East honors, a team he would be named to while competing in the NCAA Championship in Stillwater, Okla.

The Wake Forest, N.C. local posted a program-record 70.78 stroke average this year, while also setting program records in the categories of most birdies made in a season (152) and rounds at par or better (25).

Smalley signed for season-low rounds of 65 twice, with one of them coming in the Stitch Intercollegiate where he had his best finish of the season after shooting a 206 (-10) to conclude with a share of second.

Playing with great consistency, Smalley recorded a team-best five top-5 finishes, and wrapped up both the ACC Championship and the Raleigh NCAA Regional as the lowest-scoring Blue Devil.

Teammate Chandler Eaton, who also secured PING All-East honors earlier this season, had an impressive sophomore campaign en route to finishing T-15 at the NCAA Championship, giving him automatic honorable mention standing.

Eaton tallied a 71.70 scoring average over 37 rounds, finishing in the top 5 twice including a tournament title at the D.A. Weibring Intercollegiate (T-1 with teammate Adam Wood). The Alpharetta, Ga. native also added a trio of top-20 finishes as well.

His lowest 54-hole score of the year came in the Rod Myers Invitational, where he posted a 207 (-9) to finish third.

First Team

Shintaro Ban, UNLV

Broc Everett, Augusta

Doug Ghim, Texas

Nick Hardy, Illinois

Viktor Hovland, Oklahoma State

Theo Humphrey, Vanderbilt

Collin Morikawa, California

Chandler Phillips, Texas A&M

Justin Suh, Southern California

Matthew Wolff, Oklahoma State

Norman Xiong, Oregon


Second Team

Zach Bauchou, Oklahoma State

George Cunningham, Arizona

Brad Dalke, Oklahoma

Stephen Franken, NC State

Ian Holt, Kent State

Dylan Meyer, Illinois

Kyle Mueller, Michigan

Bryson Nimmer, Clemson

Lorenzo Scalise, Tennessee

Braden Thornberry, Ole Miss


Third Team

Dawson Armstrong, Lipscomb

Hayden Buckley, Missouri

Patrick Fishburn, BYU

Luis Gagne, LSU

Lee Hodges, Alabama

Brandon Mancheno, Auburn

John Pak, Florida State

Davis Riley, Alabama

Scottie Scheffler, Texas

Thomas Walsh, Virginia


Honorable Mention

John Augenstein, Vanderbilt

Claudio Correa, USF

Quade Cummins, Oklahoma

Chandler Eaton, Duke

Austin Eckroat, Oklahoma State

Will Gordon, Vanderbilt

Blaine Hale, Oklahoma

Grant Hirschman, Oklahoma

Chase Johnson, Kent State

Phillip Knowles, North Florida

Joshua Martin, North Carolina

Patrick Martin, Vanderbilt

Garrett May, Baylor

Stefano Mazzoli, TCU

Cole Miller, Penn State

Fredrik Nilehn, Texas Tech

Alvaro Ortiz, Arkansas

Yannik Paul, Colorado

Matthew Perrine, Baylor

Turk Pettit, Clemson

Spencer Ralston, Georgia

Ivan Ramirez, Texas Tech

Jovan Rebula, Auburn

Doc Redman, Clemson

Isaiah Salinda, Stanford

Alex Smalley, Duke

Brandon Smith, Texas A&M

Sahith Theegala, Pepperdine

Travis Trace, North Florida

Kristoffer Ventura, Oklahoma State

Cameron Young, Wake Forest

Andy Zhang, Florida




To remove your e-mail address from our mailing list, please click on Customer Care and select Remove From Mailing List from the Area of Interest list and specify your e-mail address. Note: This does not apply to opt-in e-mail. To modify your opt-in e-mail deliveries, log in to the site and modify your preferences. Customer Care