Uploaded Ad
article image
Courtesy: Duke Photography
Will Monday & Ross Martin
Monday & Martin Named to Preseason Watch Lists
Courtesy: Duke Sports Information
Release: 07/10/2013
BDN+ Premium Content
Related Links

DURHAM, N.C. – Duke placekicker Ross Martin and punter Will Monday were named to the watch lists for their respective position awards, with Martin appearing on the Lou Groza College Place-Kicker Award watch list, presented by the Palm Beach County Sports Commission, and Monday earning a spot on the Ray Guy Award watch list, presented by the Augusta Sports Council.

The Groza Award, presented by the Palm Beach County Sports Commission, honors the top place-kicker in the country, while the Ray Guy Award, presented by the Augusta Sports Council, recognizes the nation’s top punter. Martin finished as a semifinalist for the Lou Groza Award as a true freshman in 2012, while Monday was a candidate for the Ray Guy Award as a redshirt freshman last season.

Martin, a 5-9, 185-pound sophomore from Solon, Ohio, is one of 30 players named to the Lou Groza Award list and one of four from the Atlantic Coast Conference. As a true freshman in 2012, he hit 20-of-23 field goals while making 46-of-47 extra point attempts. He hit 2-of-3 field goals from beyond 50 yards, including a career-best 52-yard field goal against Cincinnati in the Belk Bowl.

An All-America honorable mention selection by Sports Illustrated and a first-team Freshman All-America choice by several publications, Martin broke several school records in 2012, including most points in a season (106), made point after attempts (46) and point after attempts (47), as well as Duke freshman records for points in a game (15), made field goals in a game (4), points, field goals, field goal attempts (23), field goal percentage (.870), PATs, PAT attempts, PAT percentage (.979), longest field goal (52 yards) and most field goals of at least 50 yards (2).

Monday, a 6-4, 210-pound redshirt sophomore from Flowery Branch, Ga., is one of 30 watch list selections for the Ray Guy Award and one of three from the ACC. In his first season as a Blue Devil, Monday handled every punt for the Blue Devils and averaged 44.64 yards per punt with 19 punts downed inside the opponent 20-yard line compared to just six touchbacks. He booted a career-long and Belk Bowl-record 79-yard punt against Cincinnati.

A Freshman All-America and All-ACC first team selection, Monday led the ACC in yards per punt and became only the second freshman in league history to lead the ACC in punting. He also booted a league-high 20 punts of 50 or more yards, and his 44.64 yards per punt and 2,991 punting yards set Duke freshman records.

Martin and Monday are two of 16 returning starters for the Blue Devils in 2013. Duke opens the 2013 season on August 31 against N.C. Central at 4 p.m. at Wallace Wade Stadium. For tickets, visit or call 919-681-BLUE (2583).

2013 Lou Groza Award Watch List
Chris Boswell, Rice
Kyle Brindza, Notre Dame
Jeff Budzien, Northwestern
Chandler Catanzaro, Clemson
Brian Davis, Arkansas State
Jeremiah Detmer, Toledo
Nick Diaz, Utah State
Mitch Ewald, Indiana
Nate Freese, Boston College
Andrew Furney, Washington State
Brendan Gibbons, Michigan
Warren Harvey, East Carolina
Michael Hunnicutt, Oklahoma
Cody Journell, Virginia Tech
Ty Long, UAB
Austin Lopez, San Jose State
Ross Martin, Duke
Mike Meyer, Iowa
Tony Miliano, Cincinnati
Dylan Mulder, Eastern Michigan
Jaden Oberkrom, TCU
Cody Parkey, Auburn
Kaleb Patterson, Miami (OH)
Jared Roberts, Colorado State
Trevor Romaine, Oregon State
Cairo Santos, Tulane
Will Scott, Troy
Mathew Sims, Northern Illinois
Carey Spear, Vanderbilt
John Wallace, Louisville

2013 Ray Guy Award Preseason Watch List
Steven Clark, Auburn
Pat O’Donnell, Miami (Fl.)
Darragh O’Neill, Colorado
Will Monday, Duke
Trent Tignor, East Carolina
Kyle Christy, Florida
Richie Leone, Houston
Justin Duvernois, Illionois
Kirby Van Der Kamp, Iowa State
Anthony Melchiori, Kent State
Landon Foster, Kentucky
Tyler Williams, Marshall
Colter Johnson, Massachusetts
Tom Hornsey, Memphis
Mike Sadler, Michigan State
Ben Skaer, New Mexico
Cayle Chapman-Brown, New Mexico State
Thomas Hibbard, North Carolina
Keith Kostol, Oregon State
Cody Webster, Purdue
Harrison Waid, San Jose State
Mike Loftus, SMU
Ethan Perry, TCU
Hunter Mullins, UAB
Michael Bowlin, Washington State