Uploaded Ad
article image
Courtesy: Cheryl Treworgy
Esther Vermeer Senior Profile
Courtesy: Duke Sports Information
Release: 11/07/2011
BDN+ Premium Content
Related Links
DURHAM, N.C.- The Blue Devils women's cross country team notched a first place finish this past weekend at the Wolfpack Invitational.  Looking forward, Duke is preparing for NCAA Southeast Regionals in Louisville, KY on Saturday November 12th.  Recently, sat down with senior Esther Vermeer to learn more about the Grimsby, Ontario native. What do you have DVR'd?
Esther Vermeer: "Modern Family" is pretty much the only TV show I watch. Do you have any embarrassing music on your iPod?
EV: The Disney songs that my little sister listens to. What is your favorite movie?
EV: "How to Lose a Guy in 10 Days" or "The Italian Job". What is on your bucket list?
EV: Going to New Zealand and learning how to surf. What is your favorite home-cooked meal?
EV: My dad's Sunday soup that he makes. What has been your favorite class at Duke?
EV: Principles of Animal Physiology. We got to do really cool labs. We got to learn VO2 max, which is interesting because it's so relatable. What has been your toughest class at Duke?
EV: Principles of Animal Physiology or Organic Chemistry. Can you cook? If so, what are you good at making?
EV: No. My roommate can cook really well, so I clean dishes. Who is your dream date?
EV: Andy Roddick. What is your worst habit?
EV: I bite my nails. What was your first car?
EV: I've never owned a car, but the first one I learned how to drive was one of those GMC Savana 12-passenger vans. I wish I knew how to ______.
EV: Cook or surf. What is your favorite restaurant in Durham?
EV: Pop's. Who would you want to play you in a movie?
EV: Why would they want to make a movie about me? [laughs] Kate Hudson. Who would you trade places with for a day?
EV: Usain Bolt. Where do you see yourself in 10 years?
EV: Hopefully married with kids and a successful job. Hopefully still running - if not competitively, then at least for fun. Who has had the most impact on your life?
EV: My parents. They taught me a lot of good morals and I grew up pretty well. They made it possible for me to be here and they've always supported me. Describe Coach Jermyn in one word.
EV: Wise. What is the biggest obstacle you've had to overcome athletically?
EV: I've had it pretty good at Duke and in high school. I guess just the transition between high school and college - coming to a new place, being far away from home, getting used to the weather. That's a pretty big obstacle here - getting used to the hot weather.