Uploaded Ad
article image
Courtesy: Cheryl Treworgy
Juliet Bottorff
Bottorff Tabbed ACC XC Scholar Athlete of the Year
Courtesy: Duke Sports Information
Release: 02/27/2013
BDN+ Premium Content
Related Links
DURHAM, N.C. - Eleven Duke University cross country athletes have been selected to the 2012 All-Atlantic Coast Conference Academic teams with senior Juliet Bottorff earning 2012 ACC Scholar Athlete of the Year accolades for women's cross country, as announced by Commissioner John D. Swofford Wednesday.

Graduate student Suejin Ahn, seniors Bottorff and Madeline Morgan and sophomore Kelsey Lakowske were named to the 2012 Women's Cross Country All-ACC Academic Team while graduate student James Kostelnik joined seniors Mike Moverman and Dominick Robinson, juniors Brian Atkinson, Christian Britto and Lucas Talavan-Becker and sophomore Shaun Thompson on the 2012 Men's Cross Country All-ACC Academic squad.

To be eligible for consideration, a student-athlete must have earned a 3.00 grade point average for the previous semester and maintained a 3.00 cumulative average during her academic career.

Bottorff received 2012 ACC Scholar Athlete of the Year recognition after leading the Blue Devil women to a seventh-place finish at the 2012 NCAA Cross Country Championships. The Newark, Del., native garnered All-America honors with a 27th-place finish overall, in addition to collecting All-Southeast Region and All-ACC accolades during the fall with a pair of top-three finishes at both championship meets. Bottorff will graduate in May with a degree in neuroscience and has now been named to the Women's Cross Country All-ACC Academic Team three times in her career, in addition to earning a spot on the ACC Academic Honor Roll each of the past three years.

Morgan earned a berth on the conference's academic team for the fourth time in her career, while Kostelnik was named to the squad for the third time in his career. Ahn and Atkinson made their second consecutive appearances on the all-academic teams and Britto, Lakowske, Moverman, Robinson, Talavan-Becker and Thompson each earned the accolade for the first time in their cross country careers.

Lakowske joined Bottorff in garnering All-America status this fall with a 20th-place finish individually at the NCAA Championships. The sophomore was also an All-Southeast Region and All-ACC performer, helping the Blue Devils capture the 2012 Southeast Region title and take second at the ACC Championships in just her first season of collegiate cross country. Ahn was also a member of the All-Southeast Region team after finishing 19th overall.

Moverman paced the Duke men during the 2012 campaign, collecting All-ACC honors in fifth-place at the conference meet. Atkinson guided the squad to a 30th-place showing at the NCAA Championships, leading the way in 129th, followed by Moverman, Kostelnik, Thompson, Talavan-Becker, Britto and Robinson. Moverman was Duke's top performer at NCAA Pre-Nationals, the ACC Championships and at the NCAA Southeast Regional while Thompson led the Blue Devils twice on the season and Atkinson once at the NCAA Championships.