Uploaded Ad
Hamm Named 2011 Tewaaraton Trophy Finalist
Courtesy: Duke Sports Information
Release: 05/16/2011
article image
Emma Hamm
Photo Courtesy: Duke Photography
BDN+ Premium Content
Related Links
DURHAM, N.C. – Duke redshirt junior Emma Hamm has been named one of five finalists for the 2011 Tewaaraton Trophy, an honor awarded annually to the nation’s top men and women’s lacrosse player. 

Hamm, who joins Grace Gavin (Loyola), Sarah Mollison (Maryland), Katie Schwarzmann (Maryland) and Shannon Smith (Northwestnern), is the fifth Tewaaraton finalist in Duke women’s lacrosse history. Kate Kaiser (2001), Katie Chrest (2005 & 2006), Caroline Cryer (2007) and Carolyn Davis (2009) also earned the distinction with Chrest winning the award in 2005.

Injury forced Hamm to miss the 2010 campaign, but the Wayne, Pa., native returned in 2011 to set careers highs in goals (46), assists (24), points (70) and draw controls (65), helping the Blue Devils to a 14-4 record overall record and their 14th consecutive trip to the NCAA Tournament. Duke’s leader in goals and draw controls, Hamm captured All-ACC honors for the second time in her career while ranking in the top-10 in the conference in goals, assists, caused turnovers and draw controls. An IWLCA All-America selection in 2009, Hamm has registered three or more goals in 10 contests this season and has eight games with at least five points.

A three-year starter with the Blue Devils, Hamm holds the Duke record with 171 career draw controls and is the only Blue Devil to win 50 or more draws in three consecutive seasons. In addition, she ranks seventh in the Duke record books with 64 career assists.   

After defeating ninth-ranked Penn on Sunday in the opening round of the 2011 NCAA Tournament, the Blue Devils next travel to Gainesville, Fla., to take on fourth-ranked Florida in the quarterfinals. The game is set for Saturday, May 21 at 3 p.m.