Uploaded Ad
article image
Courtesy: Duke Photography
Emma Hamm & Kim Wenger
Blue Devil Pair Named to Tewaaraton Nominee List
Courtesy: Duke Sports Information
Release: 04/25/2012
BDN+ Premium Content
Related Links

DURHAM, N.C. - Twenty-five of the nation's top women's lacrosse players, including Duke's Emma Hamm and Kim Wenger, have been selected as nominees for the 2012 Tewaaraton Award as announced by the Tewaaraton Foundation Wednesday, April 25.

Hamm, a finalist for the award last season, has been recognized as a nominee for the second consecutive season, while Wenger earns her first nod on the list. The Blue Devils have one Tewaaraton winner in program history as Katie Chrest claimed the honor following the 2005 season.

Hamm, an attacker, ranks third on the team with 34 points on 17 goals and 17 assists, while also leading the Blue Devils in both draw controls (81) and caused turnovers (18). With 81 draw controls in 2012, she currently leads the ACC in that category and has topped her own school single season record (70) set just last season. For her career, the Wayne, Pa., native has 115 goals, 82 assists, 197 points and 257 draw controls. A two-time All-American and three-time All-ACC pick, she is Duke's career leader in draw controls and ranks 13th in career goals, third in career assists and eighth in career points.

A 2011 second team All-America selection, Wenger has totaled 38 points on 16 assists and a career-best 22 goals this season to rank second on the squad. The Malvern, Pa., native's 43 draw controls also marks a career high as she ranks second on the team in draw controls, third in caused turnovers (11) and fourth in ground balls (19). Wenger has amassed 56 goals, 42 assists and 98 points during her career with the Blue Devils. She is two points shy of becoming the 18th Blue Devil in program history to eclipse the 100-point plateau and currently ranks eighth in career draw controls (106).

Duke closes out the regular season Saturday, April 28 as the Blue Devils play host to Pennsylvania at 12 p.m. at Koskinen Stadium.

2012 Tewaaraton Award Nominees
Dana Cahill, Goalie - Penn State University
Kara Cannizzaro, Midfield - University of North Carolina
Ally Carey, Midfield - Vanderbilt University
Kitty Cullen, Attack - University of Florida
Brittany Dashiell, Midfield - University of Florida
Emma Hamm, Attack - Duke University
Kristin Igoe, Midfield - Boston College
Karri Ellen Johnson, Attack - University of Maryland
Becky Lynch, Attack - University of North Carolina
Alayna Markwordt, Attack - Ohio State University
Alyssa Murray, Attack - Syracuse University
Josie Owen, Attack - University of Virginia
Marlee Paton, Midfield - Loyola University
Sarah Plumb, Midfield - Dartmouth College
Iliana Sanza, Defense - University of Maryland
Katie Schwarzmann, Midfield - University of Maryland
Shannon Smith, Midfield - Northwestern University"
Jessi Steinberg, Attack - Cormell University
Maggie Tamasitis, Attack - University of Notre Dame
Mary Teeters, Goalie - Towson University
Sophia Thomas, Midfield - Georgetown University
Taylor Thorton, Defense - Northwestern University
Michelle Tumolo, Attack - Syracuse University
Kim Wenger, Midfield - Duke University
Laura Zimmerman, Midfield - University of North Carolina