Uploaded Ad
article image
Courtesy: Duke Photography
Eight Blue Devils Land on All-ACC Academic Team
Courtesy: Duke Sports Information
Release: 06/27/2012
BDN+ Premium Content
Related Links

DURHAM, N.C. - The Duke women's lacrosse team led the Atlantic Coast Conference with eight selections to the 2012 All-ACC Academic Women's Lacrosse team announced Wednesday by commissioner John Swofford.

The Blue Devils have landed 62 student-athletes on the All-ACC Academic team since the award's inception in 2006, the highest total in the conference. Duke has placed eight-plus student-athletes on the team in each of the previous seven seasons, including a program-best 10 in 2011. 

Redshirt senior attacker Emma Hamm, senior goaltender Mollie Mackler and senior midfielder Kim Wenger were three of the 10 ACC players to earn both all-conference and all-academic team honors in 2012.

Hamm earned her fourth career nod on the team, while Mackler, sophomore midfielder Molly Quirke and sophomore defender Taylor Virden all received their second selection. Wenger, junior attacker Mackenzie Hommel, sophomore midfielder Maddy Morrissey and freshman midfielder Taylor Trimble rounded out the Blue Devil contingent.

The ACC Scholar-Athlete of the Year honor was established in September 2007 to be awarded annually to the top junior or senior student-athlete in their respective sports. Candidates for the award must have maintained a 3.0 grade point average for their career as well as a 3.0 for each of the last two semesters.

To be eligible for consideration for the All-ACC Academic team, a student-athlete, regardless of classification, must have earned a 3.0 grade point average for the previous semester and maintained a 3.0 cumulative grade point average during her academic career.

The 2012 All-ACC Academic Women's Lacrosse team is as follows: