Uploaded Ad
article image
Courtesy: Duke Photography
Ibeagha Named to Hermann Trophy Watch List
Courtesy: Duke Sports Information
Release: 08/20/2013
BDN+ Premium Content
Related Links

DURHAM, N.C.—The preseason honors continue to roll in for Duke men’s soccer senior captain Sebastien Ibeagha. Already selected to a pair of preseason All-America first teams, the central defender was named to the Missouri Athletic Club Hermann Trophy Watch List today as announced by the National Soccer Coaches Association of America.

The MAC Hermann Trophy is awarded annually to the nation’s top male and female soccer player. Duke has had six Hermann Trophy winners with the most recent being Andrew Wenger in 2011. Head coach John Kerr, who captured the honor in 1986, was the first head coach to win the award to go on and coach a Hermann Trophy winner.  Duke and Indiana share the lead for Hermann Trophy winners with six apiece.

Ibeagha is one of 10 defenders to be voted to the 34-player list and one of just four players from the Atlantic Coast Conference selected. A four-year starter for the Blue Devils, he was voted the ACC Defensive Player of the Year in 2012 after helping Duke to nine shutouts and a 0.70 goals against average. The 0.70 goals against average was the lowest for a Blue Devil squad since 1987. A dominant force in the air, Ibeagha is an offensive threat for the Blue Devils as well, leading Duke with five goals and two assists a year ago.

A two-time All-ACC pick, including first team honors in 2012, Ibeagha has started 51 games and played over 4,500 minutes.  He owns six goals and three assists for 15 points and has been a part of 20 shutouts in his 51 outings.

Near the end of the collegiate regular season, NCAA Division I coaches that are NSCAA members will vote on their top choices and the lists will be narrowed down to the top 15. College soccer fans will also have the opportunity to participate in the selection process, as they will be able to vote for their favorite semifinalist starting in November at the MAC Hermann Trophy website.

Ibeagha and the Blue Devils open the 2013 campaign Aug. 30 at 7:30 p.m. versus Rutgers.