Uploaded Ad
article image
Courtesy: Duke Photography
Beach Named ACC Indoor Track Scholar Athlete of the Year
Courtesy: Duke Sports Information
Release: 05/11/2012
BDN+ Premium Content
Related Links

DURHAM, N.C. - Headlined by Duke junior Curtis Beach being named the 2012 Atlantic Coast Conference's (ACC) Indoor Track and Field Scholar Athlete of the Year, twelve members of the track and field squad were named to the 2012 All-ACC Academic Team as announced Friday by the ACC Commissioner John Swofford. 

The ACC Scholar Athlete of the Year award is handed out annually to the top junior or senior student-athlete in his sport. The qualifications to be eligible include maintaining at least a 3.0 cumulative grade point average as well as attaining at least a 3.0 in the past two semesters. 

The psychology major has well exceeded the necessary marks in the classroom by maintaining a 3.528 GPA and averaging a 3.543 in his previous two semesters.   Beach has been equally impressive on track as he was the 2012 NCAA and ACC Indoor Track and Field champion in the heptathlon.  On his way to the NCAA crown, Beach broke the world record in the men's heptathlon 1,000 meter run with a time of 2:23.63 and he broke the ACC total points record by scoring 6,130 points in the event.   

The Duke men's squad placed a conference-high seven individuals on the All-ACC Academic Team including Beach and senior Michael Barbas who have earned the honor three times in their careers.  Senior Brendon Pierson, sophomores Ben Raskin, Justin Amezquita and Tanner Anderson along with freshman Shaun Thompson also made the list.

The women earned five slots on the academic squad with sophomore Miray Seward earning the honor for the second year in a row.  The Dunwoody, Ga., native was joined by senior Brittany Whitehead, and Freshmen Alexis Roper, Lauren Hansson and Karli Johonnot

To see a complete list of the All-ACC Academic Team click here