Uploaded Ad
article image
Courtesy: Cheryl Treworgy
Bottorff Named ACC Scholar-Athlete of the Year
Courtesy: Duke Sports Information
Release: 04/11/2014
BDN+ Premium Content
Related Links

DURHAM, N.C. -- Graduate student Juliet Bottorff was named the 2014 ACC Women’s Indoor Track & Field Scholar-Athlete of the Year, headlining the 16 Duke track and field team members who were named to the 2014 All-ACC Academic Team, as announced by the conference office Friday. Duke’s combined 16 student-athletes, including nine members of the women’s track and field team and seven members of the men’s track and field team, tied Notre Dame for the most in the ACC.

The ACC Scholar-Athlete of the Year awards were established in September 2007 to be awarded annually to the top junior or senior student-athlete in their respective sports. Candidates for the awards must have maintained a 3.0 grade point average for their career as well as a 3.0 for each of the last two semesters. To be eligible for All-ACC Academic Team consideration, a student-athlete must have earned a 3.0 grade point average for the previous semester and maintained a 3.0 cumulative average during his academic career.

Juliet Bottorff concluded a stellar collegiate indoor track and field career by successfully defending her 5,000-meter conference title at the ACC Championship, taking first place with a time of 15:59.40. Bottorff followed the performance with a fifth-place finish in the same event at the national championship, earning the Newark, Del., native All-America honors for the second consecutive year. Over the last year, Bottorff has thrived in the classroom as well, receiving an NCAA postgraduate scholarship and an ACC postgraduate scholarship for her academic efforts. The Scholar-Athlete of the Year award is the second of Bottorff’s career, after she received the same honor in 2012 following the cross country season.

Three of Duke’s nine honorees join Bottorff in being named to the all-academic team for the second consecutive year. Sophomores Anima Banks and Megan Clark and junior Elizabeth Kerpon all received the same recognition last season.

After missing 2013 to injury, redshirt sophomore Karli Johonnot returned to competition in 2014 and received All-ACC Academic honors for the second time in her career, while junior Abby Farley and graduate student Audrey Huth both were named to the all-academic team for the first time in their respective careers.

The future appears bright for the Blue Devils, as two freshmen, Madeline Kopp and Haley Meier both earned a spot on the all-academic team. Kopp and Meier were two of only nine freshmen named to the all-academic team.

On the men’s side, redshirt senior Curtis Beach was named to the all-academic team for the fourth time in his career, while senior Tanner Anderson earned the honor for the third time in his career. Senior Justin Amezquita and junior Nate McClafferty both received the honor for the second consecutive year. Graduate student Mike Moverman saw his name appear on the all-academic team for the second time in his career, with the first coming during the 2011 season. First-time honorees, senior Michael Krone and sophomore Robert Rohner, round out the Duke contingent.