Uploaded Ad
Duke Still On Top After Day Two of IC4A/ECAC
Courtesy: Duke Sports Information
Release: 05/14/2011
article image
Curtis Beach
Photo Courtesy: Duke Photography
BDN+ Premium Content
Related Links

PRINCETON, N.J. - Both the Duke men and women held down the top spot after nine events have been scored at the IC4A/ECAC Championships. With 29.75 points, the women are ahead of Virginia by 7 with the men's 44.5 holding a 14 point lead over second place Albany. Day two saw several strong finishes in the field events, with two Blue Devils walking out with the gold.

Decathlete Curtis Beach, staying fresh while he waits for the NCAA fields to be announced, won the men's long jump with a leap of 24'3.5", the third best mark all time for a Blue Devil. Beach is the first Duke athlete to win a jumping event for the Devils since Jade Ellis won the 2005 IC4A indoor long jump. The first place finish nabbed 10 points for Duke.

Also walking away with a victory was Andrea Hopkins in the women's javelin. Sitting in third going into finals, Hopkins had a strong 154'7" throw in the fifth round to win the event by two and a half feet. This is the second conference championship Hopkins has won this year after capturing the ACC title in early April.

Also picking up points in the throws was Austin Gamble and Mike Schallmo.  Gamble and Schallmo competed in the men's discuss with Gamble taking second place on a 173'10" throw and Schallmo picking up fifth with a 164'9" effort. The final points for the day came from sophomore Emily Mattoon, who was in a three way tie for seventh in the women's pole vault with a clearance of 11'6.25".

Duke saw success on the track as 11 runners qualified for tomorrow's finals. Cory Nanni ran a 3:49.68 in the 1,500. Esther Vermeer also qualified for the women with a 4:29.66 effort.

In the 800, Cydney Ross and Devotia Moore will run yet another final together. Ross' 2:06.73 and Moore's 2:08.82 were both fast enough to win their heats and send them to finals.

Finally, both the men's and women's 4x800m teams will be running in Sunday's finals.  Matt Marriott, Sean-Pat Oswald, Stephen Clark and Domenick DeMatteo ran a 7:30.58 to secure their spot while Kristina Krasich, Moore, Katie Apibunyopas and Kate Van Buskirk ran their way in with the fastest qualifying time of 8:42.62.

Tomorrow is the final day of the IC4A/ECAC championships with live results available at



Women's Tennis vs. North Carolina Live
Fri, Apr 20 at 5:45 PM
Women's Tennis vs. North Carolina Live
Fri, Apr 20 at 5:45 PM
Women's Tennis vs. North Carolina Live
Fri, Apr 20 at 5:45 PM
Women's Tennis vs. North Carolina Live
Fri, Apr 20 at 5:45 PM