Uploaded Ad
McKeever Earns All-America Accolades At NCAA Championships
Courtesy: Duke Sports Information
Release: 11/19/2007
article image
Photo Courtesy: Duke Photography
BDN+ Premium Content
Related Links

TERRE HAUTE, Ind. - The Duke women’s cross country team placed 24th overall on Monday afternoon with 484 points in the NCAA Championships, their final meet of the season. The six-kilometer race was hosted by Indiana State University at the Wabash Valley Family Sports Center. Junior Maddie McKeever finished 21st, which automatically qualified her for All-America honors for the second year in a row.

McKeever, a native of Littleton, Colo., took 21st place in a time of 20:45.5. By finishing in the top-25 of all American runners at the NCAA Championships, McKeever instantly achieved All-America status for the fourth time in her career as a Duke cross country and track and field runner. She had already attained All-ACC and All-Southeast Region honors for the second consecutive season in cross country.

Sophomore captain Kate Van Buskirk placed 67th in Terre Haute with a 21:19.5 clocking. In the four meets that McKeever and Van Buskirk have entered for Duke, they have finished one-two. Van Buskirk had earned All-Region and All-ACC honors already in 2007.

Sophomores Shelley Forbes and Emily Sherrard were on each others’ heels the entire race and placed 160th and 164th, respectively. Forbes came in with a time of 21:19.5 and Sherrard checked in at 22:01.4.

Rounding out the Duke seven were freshman Christy Adamyk (206th place in 22:31), junior Molly Lehman (216th, 22:36.4) and freshman Emily Schwitzer (225th, 22:49.2). A total of 254 athletes competed in the NCAA Championships.

Duke women's head coach Kevin Jermyn closes out the season with a 74-34 record. Jermyn is now 584-100 after five seasons at the helm in Durham.

Monday marked Duke’s eighth trip to the NCAA Championships in the last nine years, including a run of six straight years of championship appearances. The 24th place finish out of 31 teams was the lowest for the team since 2000, when they were also 24th.

The overall team champion was Stanford, who earned their third consecutive NCAA title in women’s cross country. Sally Kipyego of Texas Tech was the individual winner with a time of 19:30.9.

The broadcast will be replayed on CSTV at 11 p.m. ET tonight for fans who were unable to watch live.

Duke’s runners will have almost two months off before the indoor track and field season begins at the Virginia Tech Opener in Blacksburg, Va., on Jan. 11 and 12.




MORE Women's Cross Country