Uploaded Ad
article image
Courtesy: David Gonzales
Suri to Play In Sun Bowl College All-America Golf Classic
Courtesy: Duke Sports Information
Release: 11/16/2012
BDN+ Premium Content
Related Links

EL PASO, Texas – Senior Julian Suri is slated to play in the Sun Bowl Western Refining College All-America Golf Classic at El Paso Country Club, Nov. 18-20. The 54-hole tournament has one of the nation’s most competitive fields, including seven of the top 50 collegiate players according to the most recent Golfweek poll. In addition to 24th-ranked Suri, the field is highlighted by No. 4 Justin Thomas (Alabama), No. 6 Patrick Rodgers (Stanford) and 2012 NCAA Individual Champion Thomas Pieters of Illinois.

Suri, a native of St. Augustine, Fla., owns a 71.5 average this fall, tallying three top-10 finishes in four tournaments including a victory at the Rod Myers Invitational. At the RMI, Suri fired three sub-par rounds of 70-69-70 to tie for the title with North Carolina’s Clark Palmer with a  seven-under par 209. Suri followed his performance at the Rod Myers Invitational with a tie for 13th at the United States Collegiate Championship in Alpharetta, Ga., after firing a final round 67 to give him a three round total of three over-par.

A 2012 PING NCAA All-American, Suri has played 51 career rounds at Duke of par or better golf including seven of his 12 rounds this fall. Suri, a three-time PING All-East Region and All-ACC Academic team selection, currently ranks fifth on Duke’s all-time list with a 72.49 career stroke average. He also ranks tied for third at Duke with 41 career under-par rounds, fifth in top 20 finishes (24), tied for fifth in top 10 finishes (16) and tied for sixth in top 5 finishes (nine).

The Sun Bowl Western Refining College All-America Golf Classic is one of the oldest college golf tournaments in the nation, with the first even being held in December of 1974. In the 38 years of competition, numerous winners have  gone on to pursue successful careers on the PGA Tour including Webb Simpson (2007), Ricky Barnes (2000), Notah Begay (1994), David Duval (1991), Matt Kuchar (1999), Davis Love III (1984) and Tiger Woods (1995).

The tournament officially begins on Sunday, Nov. 18 with a long drive contest and a putting contest. Players are set to begin play with 36 holes on Monday, followed by 18 holes on Tuesday.