• Store
  • Promotions - Carousel Above Header
  • Tickets
  • Auctions - Carousel Above Header
  • Duke Photo Store
  • Donate - Carousel Above Header
  • Uploaded Ad
Long & Streelman Begin U.S. Open Play on Thursday
Monday 06/12/2011  -  Duke Sports Information
Print Print    Send this article to a friend Email    Subscribe to our Rss feed   RSS   
Courtesy: Associated Press
View larger
Former Duke standout Kevin Streelman
Related Links

DURHAM, N.C. -- Former Duke standouts Adam Long and Kevin Streelman will be in action at the 111th U.S. Open June 16-19. Both players begin play in the morning on Thursday.

Long will open play on Thursday at 9:01 am on the back nine at Congressional Country Club in Bethesda, Md. He will be paired with Bud Cauley and Michael Barbosa. Long advanced to the U.S. Open with a tie for fourth finish in sectional qualifying in Columbus on Monday.

Streelman will be in the third group off the front nine in the opening round. He will tee off along with Marc Leishman and Alex Cejka beginning at 7:22 am.

Congressional Country Club's Blue Course will be set up at 7,574 yards and will play to a par of 36-35-71. This layout is the second-longest in U.S. Open history behind the 7,643-yard South Course at Torrey Pines Golf Course in 2008. At the two previous U.S. Open championships at Congressional Country Club, the Blue Course was a par 70. At the 1964 U.S. Open, the Blue Course played at 7,053 yards with a par of 35-35-70. In 1997, it played at 7,213 yards and par was 35-35-70.

The starting field of 156 golfers will be cut after 36 holes to the low 60 scorers (and ties) and any player within 10 strokes of the leader.

The U.S. Open, which was first played in 1895, was not contested for two years (1917-18) during World War I and for four years (1942-45) during World War II. The youngest winner of the U.S. Open was 19-year-old John McDermott, who won in 1911; he is among eight players age 21 or younger who have won the U.S. Open. The oldest winner is Hale Irwin, who was 45 and playing on a special exemption when he won his third U.S. Open title in 1990. Irwin earlier won in 1974 and 1979.

There are four four-time U.S. Open winners: Willie Anderson (1901, 1903, 1904, 1905); amateur Robert T. Jones Jr. (1923, 1926, 1929, 1930); Ben Hogan (1948, 1950, 1951, 1953); and Jack Nicklaus (1962, 1967, 1972, 1980).

Only five players have won the Masters and U.S. Open titles in the same year: Craig Wood (1941), Hogan (1951, 1953), Arnold Palmer (1960), Nicklaus (1972) and Tiger Woods (2002).

DVDsSocial MediaIronDukesStoresMobileAuction
Back to Men's Golf

Proud Sponsor
click to read more
Block Duke Tees - $16
click to read more
Buy Exclusive Sports & Campus Pics
Official Duke Photo Store
click to read more
Buy Official DVD 5-Pack for $118.95
Duke Championship DVD 5-Pack
click to read more
Bid on Signed Photos & More
Duke Online Auctions
click to read more
Shop Here - Duke eSTORE
Replay Images Soon