Uploaded Ad
Five Blue Devils Named to All-ACC Academic Team
Courtesy: Duke Sports Information
Release: 06/21/2011
article image
Photo Courtesy: Michael Shroyer, USA TODAY Sports
BDN+ Premium Content
Related Links

DURHAM, N.C. - The Duke men's golf team had an ACC-high five players selected to the All-ACC Academic Team as announced on Tuesday by commissioner John Swofford. Brinson Paolini and Julian Suri were named to the team for the second straight season, while Austin Cody, Tim Gornik and Yaroslav Merkulov are first time honorees.

Duke also had five members on the All-ACC Academic Team a year ago and has now had 16 student-athletes named to the team since its inception in 2007.

Four golfers who earned All-ACC honors this season secured spots on the 2011 All-ACC Academic Men's Golf Team: Paolini, Georgia Tech's James White, Wake Forest's Evan Beck and Lee Bedford.

All eleven schools were represented on this year's All-ACC Academic Team. Duke led the way with five players represented. Wake Forest claimed three players, while Clemson, Maryland and N.C. State captured two players each. Boston College, Florida State, Georgia Tech, North Carolina, Virginia and Virginia Tech landed one player each to round out the team.

Nine golfers were repeat honorees from the 2010 All-ACC Academic team, which includes Paolini and Julian Suri, Clemson's Crawford Reeves, Georgia Tech's James White, North Carolina's Henry Zaytoun, N.C. State's Mark McMillen, Virginia's Will Collins and Wake Forest's Evan Beck and Lee Bedford.

To be eligible for consideration for the All-ACC Academic team, a student-athlete, regardless of classification, must have earned a 3.00 grade point average for the previous semester and maintained a 3.00 cumulative average during his academic career.

2011 All-ACC Academic Men's Golf Team
Name, Class, School
John Nurczynski, Jr., Boston College
Thomas Bradshaw, Fr., Clemson
* Crawford Reeves, So., Clemson
Austin Cody, Fr., Duke
Tim Gornik, So., Duke
Yaroslav Merkulov, Fr., Duke
* Brinson Paolini, So., Duke
* Julian Suri, So., Duke
Kyle Cobb, Sr., Florida State
# James White, Jr., Georgia Tech
Stephen Bosdosh, Jr., Maryland
Sean Brannan, Jr., Maryland
## Henry Zaytoun, Sr., North Carolina
Chad Day, Jr., N.C. State
* Mark McMillen, Jr., N.C. State
* Will Collins, Sr., Virginia
Bryce Chalkley, Fr., Virginia Tech
* Evan Beck, So., Wake Forest
# Lee Bedford, Jr., Wake Forest
Charlie Harrison, So., Wake Forest

*Repeat honoree (2010)
#Repeat honoree (2009-10)
##Repeat honoree (2008-10)

ACC Men's Golf Scholar-Athlete of the Year: James White, Georgia Tech

Baseball vs. Wake Forest Audio
Thu, May 24 at 10:45 AM
Baseball vs. Louisville Audio
Fri, May 25 at 10:45 AM