• Store
  • Promotions - Carousel Above Header
  • Tickets
  • Auctions - Carousel Above Header
  • Duke Photo Store
  • Donate - Carousel Above Header
  • Uploaded Ad
Duncan Set to Compete at NCAA Championship
Saturday 05/17/2011  -  Duke Sports Information
Print Print    Send this article to a friend Email    Subscribe to our Rss feed   RSS   
Courtesy: Scott Miller
View larger
Lindy Duncan
Related Links
DURHAM, N.C. -  Sophomore Lindy Duncan will represent Duke University from May 18-21 at the NCAA Women’s Golf Championship, which will be hosted by Texas A&M at the 6,260-yard, par 72 Traditions Club in College Station, Texas.

Duncan, who is a product of Fort Lauderdale, Fla., advanced to the NCAA Championship, after finishing tied for sixth at the NCAA Central Regional with rounds of 75, 72, 75 for a total of 222.   She will be there without her Blue Devil squad, which missed advancing by four strokes.  It snapped a 13-year streak for the Blue Devils advancing to the NCAA Championship as a team.

In the latest Golfweek/Sagarin Performance Index, Duncan is ranked 10th nationally with a 72.68 stroke average.  Duncan has totaled five top five, eight top 10 and nine top 20 finishes on the season in 10 tournaments.  Her 72.68 stroke average led the Atlantic Coast Conference (ACC) for the second straight year.  Duncan is on pace to post one of the top 10 stroke averages in Duke single season history. 

On Wednesday, May 18, Duncan will open the first round of the NCAA Championship on tee No. 1 along with Florida State’s Jessica Negron and Georgia’s Marta Silva Zamora at 8:55 a.m.  The trio will then go off No. 10 on Thursday, May 19 at 1:25 p.m.  All times listed are central.  Duncan is one of six individuals and 24 teams competing for the 2011 NCAA Championship. 

Duncan, the reigning two-time ACC Player of the Year, will be making her second appearance at the NCAA Championship.  In 2010, Duncan compiled rounds of 72, 76, 78 and 70 for a total of 296 to finish tied for 43rd.  Duncan has registered nine top five, 14 top 10 and 19 top 20 finishes in just two years at Duke.  She owns two victories in two years -- the 2010 Liz Murphey Collegiate Classic and the 2011 LSU Tiger Golf Classic. 

Duke has recorded three NCAA Individual Championships over the years -- Anna Grzebien (2005), Virada Nirapathpongporn (2002) and Candy Hannemann (2001).  Other top 10 finishes for Blue Devils are Amanda Blumenherst (2006-09), Anna Grzebien (2007), Jennie Lee (2006 and 2007), Brittany Lang (2005), Nirapathpongporn (2004), Hannemann (1999), Jenny Chuasiriporn (1998), Stephanie Sparks (1994), Jean Bartholomew (1988) and Evelyn Orley (1988).

As a team, Duke claimed NCAA Championships in 1999, 2002, 2005, 2006 and 2007 under Head Coach Dan Brooks

DVDsSocial MediaIronDukesStoresMobileAuction
Back to Women's Golf

Proud Sponsor
click to read more
Block Duke Tees - $16
click to read more
Buy Exclusive Sports & Campus Pics
Official Duke Photo Store
click to read more
Buy Official DVD 5-Pack for $118.95
Duke Championship DVD 5-Pack
click to read more
Bid on Signed Photos & More
Duke Online Auctions
click to read more
Shop Here - Duke eSTORE
Replay Images Soon