Uploaded Ad
Arnould Wins Duke Invitational Singles Title
Courtesy: Duke Sports Information
Release: 01/18/2010
BDN+ Premium Content
Related Links

DURHAM, N.C. - Senior Dylan Arnould repeated as singles champion of the Duke Invitational on Monday, defeating North Carolina's Brennan Boyajian in three sets.

Arnould, ranked No. 62 in the ITA singles rankings, won all three of his singles matches over the weekend to win the tournament with 30 overall points, 11 more than Boyajian. Arnould also won the Duke Invitational in 2008 with a 3-0 record and is now 8-1 all-time in the tournament.

On Monday, Arnould lost the first set to Boyajian, who is ranked No. 99. Arnould fought back to take the second set 6-4 and then broke out to a 4-1 lead in the final set. Boyajian battled back to even the score at 5-5 but Arnould was able to push through for the title with two straight games to win 3-6, 6-4, 7-5. With the win Arnould improves to 8-3 in singles on the year.

The doubles championship went to Sander Gille and Jesus Bandres of East Tennessee State. The two tied with Elon's Philip Nemec and Chase Helpingstine for total points with ten but the ETSU duo went 3-0 while the Phoenix pair was 2-1, giving Gille and Bandres the championship.

Duke junior Jared Pinsky also picked up a win for the Blue Devils. He faced North Carolina's Cameron Ahari and cruised to a 6-2, 6-2 straight set win to improve to 6-4 on the season.

The Blue Devils will begin the dual match season on Saturday when they host Elon at 6 p.m. in the Sheffield Indoor Tennis Center.

Duke Invitational Results
Jan. 18 at Durham, N.C.


5    Jose Hernandez/Brennan Boyajian (UNC) def. Dylan Arnould/Jared Pinsky (Duke) 8-3
      Philip Nemec/Chase Helpingstine (Elon) def. Grega Teraz/Charles Bottoni (ETSU) 8-6
4    Andrew Crone/Zach Hunter (UNC) def. Alain Michel/Luke Marchese (Duke) 8-5
      No. 52 Sander Gille/Jesus Bandres (ETSU) def. Alberto Rojas/Eric Turner (Elon) 8-4
3    Cameron Ahari/William Parker (UNC) def. Aaron Carpenter/David Lue (Duke) 8-4
      Daniel Isaza/Robin Akser (ETSU) def. Clark Howell/Thomas Darling (Elon) 8-1

10   No. 62 Dylan Arnould (Duke) def. No. 99 Brennan Boyajian (UNC) 3-6, 6-4, 7-5
      No. 82 Grega Teraz (ETSU) def. Chase Helpingstine (Elon) 6-4, 6-3
9    Andrew Crone (UNC) def. Luke Marchese (Duke) 4-6, 6-3, 6-1
      No. 51 Jesus Bandres (ETSU) def. Philip Nemec (Elon) 6-2, 4-6, 6-4
8    Jared Pinsky (Duke) def. Cameron Ahari (UNC) 6-2, 6-2
      Juan Ramirez (ETSU) def. Eric Turner (Elon) 6-3, 4-6, 6-3
7    Luke Mojica (UNC) def. Aaron Carpenter (Duke) 6-2, 6-3
      Jeremy Bonnevalle (ETSU) def. Alberto Rojas (Elon) 6-4, 6-4
6    Kyle Baker (UNC) def. Alain Michel (Duke) 6-4, 6-1
      Carlos Arboleda (Elon) def. Ofir Weintraub (ETSU) 6-4, 6-4
5    William Parker (UNC) def. David Lue (Duke) 6-3, 6-4
      Daniel Isaza (ETSU) def. Thomas Darling (Elon) 6-4, 6-4
4    Clark Howell (Elon) def. Jason Ramski (ETSU) 6-4, 4-6, 1-0 (12-10)