Uploaded Ad
article image
Courtesy: Duke Photography
Hanna Mar
Day Two Completed at the Duke Fab Four Invitational
Courtesy: Duke Sports Information
Release: 09/14/2013
BDN+ Premium Content
Related Links
CARY, N.C. – The Duke women’s tennis team completed day two of the Duke Fab Four Invitational on Saturday at the Cary Tennis Center in Cary, N.C.

In singles action, Duke senior Hanna Mar dropped a 3-6, 6-2, 6-3 decision to Erin Routliffe of Alabama in the quarterfinals.  Mar then knocked off Mason Strickland of Texas A&M, 6-1, 6-3.  In the fifth place blue bracket match, Mar will face Florida’s Kourtney Keegan at 9:00 a.m., on Sunday.

Freshman Alyssa Smith advanced to the consolation semifinals of the blue bracket after Texas A&M’s Ines Deheza had to withdrawal.  Smith then fell, 6-1, 6-1, to El Kamesh of Ole Miss and will face Ansley Speaks of Furman for the third place consolation match on Sunday at 9 a.m.

Duke senior Marianne Jodoin, who is ranked 78th in the preseason ITA rankings, suffered a 7-6, 6-1 loss to Erin Stephens of Ole Miss in the black bracket quarterfinals on Saturday morning.  

A native of Brooklyn, N.Y., Ester Goldfeld posted a 6-4, 6-4 win over Oklahoma State’s Kanyapat Narattana on Saturday in the quarterfinals, before dropping a 6-2, 6-2 ledger to Jamie Loeb of North Carolina in the semifinals.  On Sunday, 42nd-ranked Goldfeld will go up against 75th-ranked Olivia Janowicz of Florida in the white bracket third place match.    

In doubles action, the Blue Devil duo of Goldfeld/Jodoin dropped an 8-7 (7-5) decision to the 21st-ranked duo of Belinda Woolcock and Sofie Oyen of Florida in the finals of the black bracket.  In the consolation third place match of the white draw, Duke’s tandem of Mar/Smith downed Oklahoma State’s 47th-ranked Kanyapat Narattana and Carla Tur Mari, 8-4.  

The action closes on Sunday with the finals for singles beginning at 9:00 a.m.

2013 Schedule

Sunday, September 15th
9:00 - final round of women’s singles
NB 10:30 - final round of men’s singles

•   NB = Not Before (matches will not start before this time)
•   All rotations of matches will use 24 courts