Uploaded Ad
Four Blue Devils Earn All-ACC Honors
Courtesy: Duke Sports Information
Release: 04/21/2010
article image
(l-r) Lindsay Gilbride, Sarah Bullard, Danielle Kachulis, Kat Thomas
Photo Courtesy: Duke Photography
BDN+ Premium Content
Related Links

GREENSBORO, N.C. - Four Duke women's lacrosse student-athletes, Sarah Bullard, Lindsay Gilbride, Danielle Kachulis and Kat Thomas, have earned 2010 All-Atlantic Coast Conference honors as announced by the league Wednesday.  The honor is the first for Bullard, Kachulis and Thomas, while Gilbride is making her second consecutive appearance on the All-ACC squad.

Maryland, the host of this year's ACC Championship, lead all programs with five selections. North Carolina tied Duke with four honorees, while Virginia and Boston College place three and two on the team, respectively.

Bullard, also a Tewaaraton Trophy nominee, picks up her first career all-conference honor after leading the Blue Devils in both goals (38) and caused turnovers (26) during the season.  The junior midfielder is the only Blue Devil to reach double figures in each of four categories (goals, draw controls, ground balls and caused turnovers) as well as the only Duke player to net a goal in every game this season. Bullard's 37 consecutive games with a point is tied for the 13th-longest streak in the country as well.

Gilbride joins Bullard on the Tewaaraton Trophy list this season, coming in second on the team in goals, (36), assists (16) and points (52). A senior captain, Gilbride is currently seventh all-time at Duke in both career goals (148) and career points (194).

A defensive specialist for the Blue Devils, Kachulis earns her first career All-ACC accolades after totaling career highs in ground balls (26), draw controls (13) and caused turnovers (19) this season. The Parker, Colo., native ranks third on the team in both ground balls and caused turnovers and comes in fifth on the squad in draw controls.

Thomas, one of just three sophomores name All-ACC, leads the team with 50 draw controls in 2010, 28 more than the closest Blue Devil in that category. Her 31 goals this year, nearly double her 2009 rookie season total, ranks third on the team. In addition, the Latham, N.Y., native is currently enjoying a nine-game scoring streak, the longest of her career, netting 24 goals in that span including hat tricks in each of the past three games.

The 2010 ACC Women's Lacrosse Championship will being Thursday, April 22 with Duke facing Boston College at 2:30 p.m. on the University of Maryland campus in College Park. The three-day event will be held at the Terrapins' Ludwig Field. Information concerning the 2010 ACC Championship may be found at

Individual awards, such as Player, Coach and Freshman of the Year, will be voted on by the league's head coaches following the last regular season game and announced by the league officials in May.

2010 All-ACC Honorees

Lauren Costello, Senior, Attack, Boston College

Kristin Igoe, Sophomore, Midfield, Boston College

Sarah Bullard, Junior, Midfield, Duke

Lindsay Gilbride, Senior, Midfield, Duke

Danielle Kachulis, Senior, Midfield, Duke

Kat Thomas, Sophomore, Midfield, Duke

Karri Ellen Johnson, Sophomore, Attack, Maryland

Caitlyn McFadden, Senior, Midfield, Maryland

Sarah Mollison, Junior, Attack, Maryland

Katie Schwarzmann, Freshman, Midfield, Maryland

Karissa Taylor, Senior, Defense, Maryland

Corey Donohoe, Junior, Attack, North Carolina

Mia Hurrin, Junior, Defense, North Carolina

Logan Ripley, Senior, Goalkeeper, North Carolina

Jenn Russell, Senior, Midfield, North Carolina

Liz Downs, Junior, Defense, Virginia

Kaitlin Duff, Senior, Midfield, Virginia

Brittany Kalkstein, Senior, Midfield, Virginia


MORE Athletics