Uploaded Ad
article image
Courtesy: Duke Photography
Cutcliffe Earns AFCA National COY Honors
Courtesy: Duke Sports Information
Release: 01/13/2014
BDN+ Premium Content
Related Links
DURHAM, N.C. – Duke head football coach David Cutcliffe has been named the 2013 National Coach of the Year by the American Football Coaches Association, announced on Monday at the organization’s annual convention in Indianapolis, Ind.

The national coach of the year honor is the fifth this season for Cutcliffe, who also received top accolades from the Bobby Dodd Foundation, Maxwell Football Club, Walter Camp Foundation and Sporting News.

In 2013, Cutcliffe guided the Blue Devils to a 10-4 record including the ACC’s Coastal Division championship and an appearance in the 46th annual Chick-fil-A Bowl in Atlanta, Ga., where Duke and Texas A&M played in the most-watched non-BCS game of the bowl season.  

The ACC’s Coach of the Year in both 2012 and 2013, Cutcliffe guided Duke to final national rankings in the BCS standings (24th), USA Today/Coaches poll (22nd) and Associated Press poll (23rd).  Duke’s 10 wins are the most in school history, bettering the previous standard of nine set by the 1933, 1936, 1938 and 1941 squads.  

Cutcliffe will be honored tomorrow night at the annual AFCA Coach of the Year Dinner at the Indiana Convention Center along with the other coach of the year recipients: North Dakota State’s Craig Bohl (FCS), Northwest Missouri State’s Adam Dorrel (Division II), Wisconsin-Whitewater’s Lance Leipold (Division III) and Grand View’s Mike Woodley (NAIA).