• Store
  • Promotions - Carousel Above Header
  • Tickets
  • Auctions - Carousel Above Header
  • Duke Photo Store
  • Donate - Carousel Above Header
  • Uploaded Ad
Uploaded Ad
Watch X Live Rollup
McGee Named to 2012 Legends Class
Thursday 08/13/2012  -  Duke Sports Information
Print Print    Send this article to a friend Email    Subscribe to our Rss feed   RSS   
Courtesy: Duke Sports Information
View larger
Mike McGee
Related Links

DURHAM, N.C. - Former Duke All-America lineman Mike McGee will represent his alma mater as a member of the 2012 ACC Football Legends class to be honored at the league's championship game in Charlotte on December 1.

The group, which will be honored at the ACC Night of Legends event sponsored by the Belk Bowl on Friday, November 30, will be recognized during ceremonies at Bank of America Stadium for the eighth annual Dr Pepper ACC Football Championship, which will be nationally televised with either a 7:45 p.m. (ESPN) or 8 p.m. (ABC) kickoff.

McGee, a native of Elizabeth City, N.C., lettered three seasons (1957-58-59) as a lineman for the Blue Devils.  As a senior, McGee served as a team captain and was honored with the Outland Trophy as the nation's top interior lineman.  Also in 1959, he received ACC Player of the Year, ACC Male Athlete of the Year, first team All-ACC and first team All-America honors for his efforts.  He was the 14th overall selection in the 1960 NFL Draft by the St. Louis Cardinals.

Following his professional playing career, McGee entered the coaching circle and served as the head coach at his alma mater from 1971-78.  He later enjoyed a 25-year career in athletic administration, serving as the director of athletics at Cincinnati (1979-84), Southern California (1984-93) and South Carolina (1993-2005).

McGee was enshrined in the College Football Hall of Fame in 1990.

McGee is joined in the 2012 ACC Football Legends class by Bob Hyland (Boston College), Bennie Cunningham (Clemson), Sam Cowart (Florida State), Ken Swilling (Georgia Tech), Chet Hanulak (Maryland), Ted Hendricks (Miami), Dre' Bly (North Carolina), Torry Holt (N.C. State), Frank Quayle (Virginia), Pierson Prioleau (Virginia Tech) and Ed Stetz (Wake Forest).

The group of 12 former gridiron standouts from current ACC schools includes three former ACC Football Players of the Year, six consensus first-team All-Americas, seven first-team All-Americas, and 10 players who combined for 84 years in the National Football League. Eleven of the Legends were drafted into the NFL, including eight first- or second-round draft choices.

Previous Blue Devil standouts to be honored as ACC Football Legends include Leo Hart (2005), Art Gregory (2006), Clarkston Hines (2007), Tee Moorman (2008), Bob Pascal (2009), Jay Wilkinson (2010) and Ben Bennett (2011).


DVDsSocial MediaIronDukesStoresMobileAuction
Back to Football

Proud Sponsor
click to read more
Duke Spirit Jerseys - $49.95
click to read more
Buy Exclusive Sports & Campus Pics
Official Duke Photo Store
click to read more
Buy Official DVD 5-Pack for $118.95
Duke Championship DVD 5-Pack
click to read more
Bid on Signed Photos & More
Duke Online Auctions
click to read more
Shop Here - Duke eSTORE
Replay Images Soon