Uploaded Ad
article image
Courtesy: Jason Roberts
Will Monday
Monday Named a Candidate for Ray Guy Award
Courtesy: Duke Sports Information
Release: 10/25/2013
BDN+ Premium Content
Related Links

DURHAM, N.C. – Duke redshirt sophomore punter Will Monday was named a candidate for the Ray Guy Award, given each year to the best punter in college football.

Monday, a 6-4, 210-pound native of Flowery Branch, Ga., averages 43.4 yards per punt this season and is the catalyst of a coverage unit that has posted the eighth lowest average net punting average in the nation. Behind Monday’s punting, Duke is holding opposing punt returners to an average of  3.6 yards per return, which ranks 17th nationally.

An All-ACC first team and All-America honorable mention selection in 2012, Monday has landed eight punts inside the opponent 20-yard line this season, compared to just two touchbacks. He has booted eight punts of 50 yards or more, including a season-long 72-yarder against Georgia Tech.

Monday was a also a candidate for the Ray Guy Award as a freshman when he led the ACC and ranked 13th nationally with 44.64 yards per punt. He owns a career average of 44.24 yards per punt, which would break Duke’s career record of 42.55 set by Brian Morton from 1997-2000.

Monday and the Blue Devils will take on Virginia Tech in Blacksburg, Va., this Saturday, Oct. 26 at 3:30 p.m. The game will air on ESPNU and the Blue Devil IMG Sports Network.

The Ray Guy Award watch list will be narrowed to ten semifinalists to be announced on November 8. Following the semi-finalists announcement, a national body of Football Bowl Subdivision (FBS) sports information directors, coaches, media representatives and previous Ray Guy Award winners will vote for the top three finalists, who will be identified on November 25. The voting body will then cast ballots to select the winner.

The presentation of the Ray Guy Award will be featured on The Home Depot College Football Awards live on Thursday, December 12 at 7:30 pm ET on ESPN. The show, hosted by ESPN’s Chris Fowler, Lee Corso, Kirk Herbstreit and Desmond Howard will feature live presentation of nine player awards, along with the recipients of Disney’s Spirit Award, The Home Depot Coach of the Year Award, the NCFAA (National College Football Awards Association) Contributions to College Football Award, and student-athletes selected to the Walter Camp All-America Team.

The Augusta Sports Council created the Ray Guy Award in 2000 to honor Thomson, Ga., native and College Football Hall of Fame inductee, Ray Guy. The Ray Guy Award winner is determined by a national voting body of sports writers, college coaches, sports information directors, and past Ray Guy Award winners. Among the statistics used to identify the winner is net punting average, number of times a punt is downed or kicked out of bounds inside the opponents 20-yard line, total yardage punted, average returned yardage, and percentage of punts not returned. The winner must display team leadership, self-discipline, and have a positive impact on the team’s success. Learn more about the Ray Guy Award at

The Augusta Sports Council is a non-profit organization dedicated to marketing the Augusta area as a destination for amateur sporting events. The ASC attracts, creates and supports dozens of sporting events and activities each year, generating a positive economic impact and enhancing the quality of life for residents of the greater Augusta community. To learn more, visit

2013 Ray Guy Award Candidates

•             Zach Paul, Akron

•             Cody Mandell, Alabama

•             Sam Irwin-Hill, Arkansas

•             Steven Clark, Auburn

•             Spencer Roth, Baylor

•             Nate Freese, Boston College

•             Brian Schmiedebusch, Bowling Green State University

•             Scott Arellano, BYU

•             Cole Leininger, California

•             Richard Hogan, Central Michigan

•             Darragh O’Neill, Colorado

•             Hayden Hunt, Colorado State

•             Cole Wagner, Connecticut

•             Will Monday, Duke

•             Trent Tignor, East Carolina

•             Austin Barnes, Eastern Michigan

•             Kyle Christy, Florida

•             Cason Beatty, Florida State

•             Sean Poole, Georgia Tech

•             Richie Leone, Houston

•             Austin Rehkow, Idaho

•             Justin DuVervois, Illinois

•             Connor Kornbrath, Iowa

•             Kirby Van Der Kamp, Iowa State

•             Trevor Pardula, Kansas

•             Mark Krause, Kansas State

•             Anthony Melchiori, Kent State

•             Landon Foster, Kentucky

•             Justin Manton, Louisiana-Monroe

•             Logan McPherson, Louisiana Tech

•             Ryan Johnson, Louisville

•             Tyler Williams, Marshall

•             Nathan Renfro, Maryland

•             Tom Hornsey, Memphis

•             Pat O’Donnell, Miami (FL)

•             Zac Murphy, Miami (OH)

•             Mike Sadler, Michigan State

•             Josh Davis, Middle Tennessee

•             Peter Mortell, Minnesota

•             Baker Swedenburg, Mississippi State

•             Christian Brinser, Missouri

•             Pablo Beltran, Navy

•             Sam Foltz, Nebraska

•             Chase Tenpenny, Nevada

•             Ben Skaer, New Mexico

•             Cayle Chapman-Brown, New Mexico State

•             Thomas Hibbard, North Carolina

•             Tyler Wedel, Northern Illinois

•             Kyle Brindza, Notre Dame

•             Cameron Johnston, Ohio State

•             Jed Barnett, Oklahoma

•             Kip Smith, Oklahoma State

•             Tyler Campbell, Ole Miss

•             Alejandro Maldonado, Oregon

•             Keith Kostol, Oregon State

•             Matt Yoklic, Pittsburgh

•             Cody Webster, Purdue

•             Nick Marsh, Rutgers

•             Jamie McConeghy, San Diego State

•             Mike Loftus, SMU

•             Ben Rhyne, Stanford

•             Riley Dixon, Syracuse

•             Ethan Perry, TCU

•             Paul Layton, Temple

•             Michael Palardy, Tennessee

•             Anthony Fera, Texas

•             Drew Kaser, Texas A&M

•             Will Johnson, Texas State

•             Zach Robinson, Texas State

•             Ryan Erxleben, Texas Tech

•             Vince Penza, Toledo

•             Will Scott, Troy

•             Peter Picerelli, Tulane

•             Hunter Mullins, UAB

•             Caleb Houston, UCF

•             Logan Yunker, UNLV

•             Kris Albarado, USC

•             Tom Hackett, Utah

•             Taylor Hudston, Vanderbilt

•             Alec Vozenilek, Virginia

•             A.J. Hughes Virginia Tech

•             Nicholas O’Toole, West Virginia

•             Hendrix Brakefield, Western Kentucky

•             Justin Schroeder, Western Michigan

•             Drew Meyer, Wisconsin