Uploaded Ad
article image
Courtesy: Duke Photography
David Cutcliffe
Cutcliffe a Finalist for National Coach of the Year
Courtesy: Duke Sports Information
Release: 12/03/2013
BDN+ Premium Content
Related Links
DURHAM, N.C. – The Maxwell Football Club announced Tuesday that Duke head coach David Cutcliffe is one of three finalists for the Club’s Collegiate Coach of the Year Award.  

Cutcliffe is joined on the final ballot by Gus Malzahn of Auburn and Gary Pinkel of Missouri.

Cutcliffe has guided the Blue Devils to a 10-2 record this season including the ACC’s Coastal Division championship.  The 10 wins are the most in school history, bettering the previous standard of nine set by the 1933, 1936, 1938 and 1941 squads.

Ranked 20th in this week’s Associated Press national poll, the Blue Devils will face top-ranked Florida State in the 2013 ACC Championship Game on Saturday at 8 p.m. at Bank of America Stadium in Charlotte, N.C.  The game will be televised nationally by ABC.

Voting is now open for the finalist selection for the MFC Collegiate Coach of the Year. Eligible voters include NCAA Bowl Subdivision Head Coaches and Football Sports Information Directors, Maxwell Football Club members and selected national media. The winner announcement will be made on December 19, 2013, and the award will be formally presented at the 77th Maxwell Awards Gala in March, 2014 in Atlantic City, N.J.

The Maxwell Football Club was founded in 1935 and is the oldest football club of its kind in America. The organization is devoted to recognizing excellence at all levels of football from high school through the NFL ranks. Under the stewardship of MFC President Ron Jaworski the Club has grown rapidly and has members in 40 states. The MFC provides educational and training programs for players and coaches, and also provides scholarships to outstanding student-athletes who demonstrate excellence on the field, in the classroom and in the community.

Information of Maxwell Football Club membership can be seen at Questions concerning the MFC Collegiate Coach of the Year Award should be directed to MFC Executive Director Mark Wolpert or by calling the Club’s offices at 215-643-3833.