Uploaded Ad
article image
Courtesy: Duke Photography
David Cutcliffe
Cutcliffe a Finalist for Coach of the Year Awards
Courtesy: Duke Sports Information
Release: 12/10/2013
BDN+ Premium Content
Related Links

DURHAM, N.C. – Duke head coach David Cutcliffe was named a finalist for the Liberty Mutual Coach of the Year and Bowden Coach of the Year awards, the governing bodies for each award announced Tuesday.

Cutcliffe, already named the Walter Camp Foundation National Coach of the Year and ACC Coach of the Year and a finalist for the Eddie Robinson Coach of the Year award, has led Duke to a school-record 10 wins this season, an ACC Coastal Division title, a berth in the ACC Championship game and a trip to face No. 21 Texas A&M in the Chick-fil-A Bowl on Dec. 31.

Joining Cutcliffe on the Liberty Mutual Coach of the Year finalist list are Art Briles (Baylor), Mark Dantonio (Michigan State), Todd Graham (Arizona State), Guz Malzahn (Auburn), Urban Meyer (Ohio State), Jim Mora), UCLA), Bill O’Brien (Penn State), Nick Saban (Alabama) and Dabo Swinney (Clemson). Liberty Mutual Insurance will announce the winner on Jan. 6, 2014. The award honors the coach who best exemplifies responsibility, integrity, sportsmanship and excellence both on and off the field.  

Cutcliffe was one of five finalists for the Bowden Coach of the Year award, joining Briles, Dantonio, Fisher and Malzahn. The Over the Mountain Touchdown Club will announce the winner of the Bowden Coach of the Year award on March 2, 2014. The award recognizes the coach who has most excelled in coaching football while demonstrating perseverance, attitude, integrity, and determination.