• Store
  • Promotions - Carousel Above Header
  • Tickets
  • Auctions - Carousel Above Header
  • Duke Photo Store
  • Donate - Carousel Above Header
  • Uploaded Ad
Uploaded Ad
Watch X Live Rollup
Perry Simmons
Courtesy: Duke Photography
Perry Simmons
Simmons Receives University Scholar Athlete Award
Monday 05/01/2014  -  Duke Sports Information
Print Print    Send this article to a friend Email    Subscribe to our Rss feed   RSS   
Related Links

DURHAM, N.C. – Former Duke football standout Perry Simmons was named the recipient of the University Scholar Athlete award by the National Football Foundation and College Hall of Fame, Inc., presented at the Bill Dooley Triangle East Chapter of North Carolina annual awards dinner held Wednesday on the N.C. Central University campus in Durham.

An offensive tackle from Raleigh, N.C., Simmons received a host of academic honors in 2013, earning recognition as an NFF Scholar-Athlete, an Academic All-America first team selection and the ACC Jim Tatum Award. He is a two-time Academic All-America selection, a four-time All-ACC Academic Football Team honoree and a five-time member of the ACC Academic Honor Roll.

Simmons was a fixture of the Duke offensive line throughout his career, starting 50 consecutive games at right tackle. He started every game of his playing career until suffering a season-ending knee injury in the 2013 Dr Pepper ACC Championship Game against No. 1 Florida State on Dec. 7. In 2013, he helped pave the way for a Duke offense that set a school record for touchdowns and was a key component of a Duke team that won a school-record 10 games and the ACC Coastal Division on the way to earning a berth in the Chick-fil-A Bowl on New Year’s Eve.
Past Duke winners of the University Scholar Athlete honor include Lennie Friedman (1999), Sims Lenhardt (2000), Spencer Romine (2001), Ben Erdeljac (2002), Jaymon Small (2003), Chris Douglas (2004), Giuseppe Aguanno (2005), Brendan Dewan (2006), Eli Nichols (2007), Patrick Bailey (2008), Ryan Wood (2009), Brett Huffman (2010), Vincent Rey (2010), Bryan Morgan (2011), Matt Daniels (2012) and Sean Renfree (2013).


DVDsSocial MediaIronDukesStoresMobileAuction
Back to Football

Proud Sponsor
click to read more
Block Duke Tees - $16
click to read more
Buy Exclusive Sports & Campus Pics
Official Duke Photo Store
click to read more
Buy Official DVD 5-Pack for $118.95
Duke Championship DVD 5-Pack
click to read more
Bid on Signed Photos & More
Duke Online Auctions
click to read more
Shop Here - Duke eSTORE
Replay Images Soon