Uploaded Ad
article image
Courtesy: Duke Photography
Bennett to be Honored at ACC Night of Legends
Courtesy: Duke Sports Information
Release: 12/02/2011
BDN+ Premium Content
Related Links
DURHAM, N.C. - As a member of the 2011 ACC Football Legends class, former Duke All-America quarterback Ben Bennett will represent his alma mater this weekend at the league's championship game in Charlotte.

The group, which will be honored at the ACC Night of Legends event on Friday, December 2, will be recognized during ceremonies at Bank of America Stadium for the seventh annual Dr Pepper ACC Football Championship, which has an 8 p.m. kickoff on Saturday night and will be nationally televised by ESPN in both HD and 3-D.  Clemson meets Virginia Tech in the contest.

Bennett, a native of Sunnyvale, Calif., quarterbacked the Blue Devils from 1980-83 and capped a terrific career with ACC Player of the Year and third team All-America accolades as a senior. Still one of just two players in ACC history to earn both the conference's Rookie and Player of the Year awards, Bennett graduated as the NCAA's all-time leading passer and currently ranks sixth on the league's career passing chart with 9,614 yards.

In a collegiate career that included 47 games played with 46 starting assignments, Bennett completed 820-of-1,375 (.596) pass attempts for 9,614 yards and 67 touchdowns, and he continues to hold or share 21 Duke passing records. He twice earned first team All-ACC honors (1982-83), represented the Blue Devils in the Blue-Gray Classic, Hula Bowl and Japan Bowl all-star games following his senior campaign and served as an assistant coach at Duke for two seasons (1999-00).

A sixth round draft choice of the NFL's Atlanta Falcons, Bennett went on to a Hall of Fame career in the Arena Football League with enshrinement on May 24, 2000. He was inducted into the Duke Athletics Hall of Fame on September 9.

Bennett is joined in the 2011 ACC Football Legends class by Stephen Boyd (Boston College), Perry Tuttle (Clemson), Andre Wadsworth (Florida State), Lucius Sanford (Georgia Tech), Dick Novak (Maryland), Jim Otto (Miami), Chris Hanburger (North Carolina), Marc Primanti (N.C. State), Chris Slade (Virginia), Mike Johnson (Virginia Tech) and Larry Russell (Wake Forest).

Previous Blue Devil standouts to be honored as ACC Football Legends include Leo Hart (2005), Art Gregory (2006), Clarkston Hines (2007), Tee Moorman (2008), Bob Pascal (2009) and Jay Wilkinson (2010).