Uploaded Ad
article image
Courtesy: Duke Sports Information
Wes Chesson
Chesson Named to ACC Football Legends Class
Courtesy: Duke Sports Information
Release: 09/25/2013
BDN+ Premium Content
Related Links

DURHAM, N.C. – Former Duke All-America wide receiver Wes Chesson will represent his alma mater as a member of the 2013 ACC Football Legends class to be honored at the league’s championship game in Charlotte on December 7.

The group, which will be honored at the ACC Night of Legends event sponsored by the Belk Bowl on Friday, December 6, will be recognized during ceremonies at Bank of America Stadium for the eighth annual Dr Pepper ACC Football Championship, which will be nationally televised with either a 7:45 p.m. (ESPN) or 8 p.m. (ABC) kickoff.

Chesson, a native of Edenton, N.C., lettered three seasons as a member of Duke’s football team, starring as both a wide receiver and punter.  In 30 career games from 1968-70, he caught 164 passes for 2,399 yards and 10 touchdowns while punting 153 times for 5,553 yards and a 36.29 yards per kick average.

As a senior in 1970, Chesson established ACC single-season records for both pass receptions (74) and receiving yardage (1,080) en route to earning first team All-ACC and honorable mention All-America honors from the Associated Press.  The 74 catches stood as a school single-season record for 42 years until both Conner Vernon (85) and Jamison Crowder (76) eclipsed the standard during the 2012 campaign. 

Chesson, who will be forever remembered for his 53-yard touchdown run on the “Shoestring Play” in Duke’s 17-13 triumph over North Carolina in 1969,  was a seventh round choice of the Atlanta Falcons in the 1971 NFL Draft and played four seasons of professional football. 

In 1982, he joined the Duke Radio Network as the analyst for Blue Devil football games.

Chesson is joined in the 2013 ACC Football Legends class by Mike Cloud (Boston College), Terry Kinard (Clemson), Jamie Dukes (Florida State), Robert Lavette (Georgia Tech), Boomer Esiason (Maryland), Edgerrin James (Miami), Ken Willard (North Carolina), Dave and Don Buckey (N.C. State), Johnny Majors (Pitt), Floyd Little (Syracuse), Tom Scott (Virginia), Andre Davis (Virginia Tech) and Jay Venuto (Wake Forest).

The group of 15 former gridiron standouts from current ACC schools includes a former ACC Football Player of the Year; 10 former All-Americas, including six first-team All-America honorees; and 12 players who combined for 97 years in the National Football League. Twelve of the Legends were drafted into the NFL, including six first- or second-round draft choices.   In all, the collection of players combined for two national championships, five ACC Championships and one Super Bowl title.

Previous Blue Devil standouts to be honored as ACC Football Legends include Leo Hart (2005), Art Gregory (2006), Clarkston Hines (2007), Tee Moorman (2008), Bob Pascal (2009), Jay Wilkinson (2010), Ben Bennett (2011) and Mike McGee (2012).