Uploaded Ad
article image
Courtesy: Duke Photography
Jamison Crowder
Crowder Named to Biletnikoff Award Watch List
Courtesy: Duke Sports Information
Release: 07/15/2014
BDN+ Premium Content
Related Links

DURHAM, N.C. – Duke senior wide receiver Jamison Crowder was named to the Biletnikoff Award watch list as one of the nation’s top receivers entering the 2014 season.

Crowder, a 5-9, 175-pound native of Monroe, N.C., was one of 55 players named to the list released Thursday by the Tallahassee Quarterback Club Foundation, Inc. The award recognizes the outstanding receiver in college football regardless of position.

Coming off an historic season in which he eclipsed the ACC’s single-season record with 108 receptions, Crowder enters 2014 among the NCAA’s top five active leaders in career receiving yards (2,597), receptions (198), all-purpose yards (4,216), punt return average (13.70), punt return yards (589) and punt return touchdowns (2). His 1,360 receiving yards in 2013 are the most of any returning player in the Football Bowl Subdivision.

An All-America second team choice at punt returner and an All-ACC first team selection at wide receiver last season, Crowder has been named to preseason All-America lists by several major outlets. He is also on the watch lists for the Maxwell Award for the nation’s top player and the Hornung Award as the nation’s most versatile player. He has caught multiple passes in 28 consecutive games and is on pace to break the ACC records for pass receptions, receiving yards and 100-yard receiving games.

The Biletnikoff Award is named in honor of Fred Biletnikoff, a member of the pro and college football halls of fame who was an All-Pro receiver with the Oakland Raiders and an All-America receiver at Florida State University. He caught 589 passes for 8,974 yards and 76 touchdowns in his 14-year Raiders career from 1965 through 1978. Fred was the Most Valuable Player of Super Bowl XI. The Tallahassee Quarterback Club Foundation, Inc., created the Biletnikoff Award in 1994.

Duke opens the 2014 campaign against Elon on Aug. 30 at Wallace Wade Stadium. To order tickets, call (919) 681-BLUE or visit

2014 Biletnikoff Award Watch List
Nelson Agholor, University of Southern California, Jr.
Dres Anderson, University of Utah, Sr.
Kenny Bell, University of Nebraska, Sr.
Tyler Boyd, University of Pittsburgh, So.
Da'Ron Brown, Northern Illinois University, Sr.
Rashon Ceaser, University of Louisiana at Monroe, Jr.
Sammie Coates, Auburn University, Jr.
Amari Cooper, University of Alabama, Sr.
Jamison Crowder, Duke University, Sr.
Titus Davis, Central Michigan University, Sr.
Geremy Davis, University of Connecticut, Sr.
Devante Davis, University of Nevada, Las Vegas, Sr.
Quinshad Davis, University of North Carolina, Jr.
Corey Davis, Western Michigan University, So.
Stefon Diggs, University of Maryland, Jr.
Devin Funchess, University of Michigan, Jr.
Antwan Goodley, Baylor University, Sr.
Jakeem Grant, Texas Tech University, Jr.
Deontay Greenberry, University of Houston, Jr.
Rashad Greene, Florida State University, Sr.
Rannell Hall, University of Central Florida, Sr.
Justin Hardy, East Carolina University, Sr.
Josh Harper, California State University, Fresno, Sr.
Chris Harper, University of California, Jr.
Nick Harwell, University of Kansas, Sr.
Rashard Higgins, Colorado State University, So.
Austin Hill, University of Arizona, Sr.
Christian Jones, Northwestern University, Sr.
Darius Joseph, Southern Methodist University, Jr.
Jameon Lewis, Mississippi State University, Sr.
Tyler Lockett, Kansas State University, Sr.
Matt Miller, Boise State University, Sr.
Ty Montgomery, Stanford University, Sr.
Richard Mullaney, Oregon State University, Jr.
Jamarcus Nelson, University of Alabama at Birmingham, Sr.
Levi Norwood, Baylor University, Sr.
DeVante Parker, University of Louisville, Sr.
Breshad Perriman, University of Central Florida, Jr.
Jamal Robinson, University of Louisiana at Lafayette, Sr.
Ezell Ruffin, San Diego State University, Sr.
Dominic Rufran, University of Wyoming, Sr.
Wes Saxton, University of South Alabama, Jr.
Jaxon Shipley, University of Texas, Sr.
Tommy Shuler, Marshall University, Sr.
Devin Smith, Ohio State University, Jr.
Shavarez Smith, University of South Alabama, Jr.
Daniel Spencer, University of Houston, Sr.
Jaelen Strong, Arizona State University, Jr.
Jordan Taylor, Rice University, Sr.
Laquon Treadwell, University of Mississippi, So.
Richy Turner, University of Nevada, Sr.
Shaq Washington, University of Cincinnati, Sr.
Jordan Williams, Ball State University, Jr.
Tyler Winston, San Jose State University, So.
Shane Wynn, Indiana University, Sr.