Uploaded Ad
article image
Courtesy: Duke Photography
David Cutcliffe
Cutcliffe Earns ACC Coach of the Year Honors
Courtesy: Duke Sports Information
Release: 12/03/2013
BDN+ Premium Content
Related Links
DURHAM, N.C. – Duke head football coach David Cutcliffe has been named the 2013 ACC Coach of the Year as voted on by the Atlantic Coast Sports Media Association.

Now in his sixth year at the helm of the Duke gridiron program, Cutcliffe has guided the Blue Devils to a 10-2 record this season including the ACC’s Coastal Division championship.  The 10 wins are the most in school history, bettering the previous standard of nine set by the 1933, 1936, 1938 and 1941 squads.

Cutcliffe also captured the honor in 2012, becoming the seventh coach in league history to receive the award in consecutive seasons, joining Maryland’s Jerry Claiborne (1975-76), Clemson’s Charley Pell (1977-78), Virginia’s George Welsh (1983-84), Duke’s Steve Spurrier (1988-89), Virginia Tech’s Frank Beamer (2004-05) and Georgia Tech’s Paul Johnson (2008-09).  

“It’s awfully humbling,” Cutcliffe said.  “I’ve said it time and time again, we’ve got a terrific group of coaches in this league.  But this is not an individual award – this is a program honor because of the young men who prepared each and every week to the best of their abilities, and then played the games on Saturdays with tremendous effort.  And certainly a great deal of credit goes to our staff, which has come to work each and every day with the desire to help make our program the best it can possibly be.”

Ranked 20th in this week’s Associated Press national poll, the Blue Devils will face top-ranked Florida State in the 2013 ACC Championship Game on Saturday at 8 p.m. at Bank of America Stadium in Charlotte, N.C.  The game will be televised nationally by ABC.

A native of Birmingham, Ala., Cutcliffe has guided the Blue Devils to 31 victories in his five-plus seasons after Duke managed just 10 wins in the previous eight years.  

Cutcliffe received 62 of 65 votes to easily outdistance Boston College’s Steve Addazio (2 votes) and Florida State’s Jimbo Fisher (1).

Voting for the 2012 ACC Coach of the Year award was conducted by 65 members of the Atlantic Coast Sports Media Association.

David Cutcliffe, Duke (62)
Steve Addazio, Boston College (2)
Jimbo Fisher, Florida State (1)