Uploaded Ad
article image
Courtesy: Duke Photography
Naismith Trophy Finalist Jabari Parker
Parker Named Naismith Trophy Finalist
Courtesy: Duke Sports Information
Release: 03/24/2014
BDN+ Premium Content
Related Links
DURHAM, N.C. – Duke freshman Jabari Parker is one of four finalists for the 2014 Naismith Trophy presented by AT&T as announced Sunday evening by the Atlanta Tipoff Club’s Board of Selectors. Joining Parker as a finalist are Arizona junior Nick Johnson, Creighton senior Doug McDermott and Louisville senior Russ Smith.  The winner of the Naismith Trophy Men’s College Player of the Year Trophy presented by AT&T will be revealed April 6, 2014, in Dallas.

Parker closed the season averaging 19.1 points, 8.7 rebounds, 1.1 assists, 1.2 blocks and 1.1 steals per game for the 26-9 Duke Blue Devils. He became just the sixth freshman in league history to top 600 points scored and just the fourth freshman to lead the ACC in rebounds. The Chicago native led the Blue Devils in scoring and rebounding, becoming the 12th freshman in conference history to lead their team in both categories. Parker also matched an ACC record with 10 Rookie of the Week citations, while finishing second in the ACC freshman record books with 18 games with 20 or more points scored.

For the 10th consecutive year, fans will have the opportunity to vote for the player of their choice and help determine the 2014 Naismith Trophy winner. Beginning March 24 and running through April 5 fans can cast their vote through the online and mobile optimized site The fan vote represents 25 percent of the selection process – the largest fan impact of any collegiate basketball award.

“Each of the remaining candidates demonstrates a unique style of basketball, and their individual accomplishments reflect their talent and dedication to the sport,” said Eric Oberman, executive director of the Atlanta Tipoff Club. “Additionally, they have been key contributors to their team’s successes throughout the season and that truly exemplifies strong leadership. We would be happy to call any of them a Naismith Trophy winner.”

“This year’s talented finalists have entertained us this entire season and will continue to showcase their leadership and abilities during the tournament,” said Jamie Kerr, director, AT&T Corporate Sponsorships. “Narrowing the field to only four finalists was a daunting challenge for the Atlanta Tipoff Club’s Board of Selectors. Now the fans have the unique opportunity to cast their vote to recognize the men’s college basketball player of the year.”

Nick Johnson, Junior, University of Arizona: The 6-3 guard averaged a team-high 16.2 points, along with 4 RPG, and 2.8 APG for the Wildcats. He was named PAC-12 Player of the Year, and a member of the Pac-12 All-Defensive Team and Pac-12 Tournament All-Tournament Team. He scored 20 or more points in 11 games this season, leading Arizona to the Pac-12 regular season conference championship.

Doug McDermott, Senior, Creighton University: The 2012 and 2013 Naismith Trophy finalist ranks fifth in NCAA history with 3,105 career points. He was a preseason All-American, aiming to become AP’s first three-time First Team All-American since Patrick Ewing & Wayman Tisdale (1983-85). One of only three men in NCAA history with 3,000 points and 1,000 rebounds in a career, he was named the BIG EAST Player of the Year after being named MVC Player of the Year as a sophomore and junior to become the third player in NCAA history named POY in multiple conferences.

Jabari Parker, Freshman, Duke University: ACC Freshman of the Year and first team All-American Jabari Parker ranks second in the ACC in scoring at 19.1 points per game, the highest scoring average by a freshman in school history. Parker also leads the ACC in rebounding (8.8 rpg.) and ranks third in field goal percentage (.473 – 236-of-499). He has an ACC-leading 14 double-doubles, tied for the most in school history by a freshman. And, he is the first Duke freshman to earn All-America first team honors and the second to earn All-America honors from any major outlet.

Russ Smith, University of Louisville: A first-team All-America selection this season and the AAC Tournament Most Outstanding Player, Smith is the only player in the American Athletic Conference to rank among the top five in league-only stats in all of scoring (18.0 ppg, 4th), assists (4.7), steals (2.3, 1st), and three-point percentage (.474, 1st). The 6-1 senior is the only Louisville player in history with at least 1,800 career points, 350 assists and 250 steals.

Other notable Naismith Trophy alumni include a pair of three-time winners in Bill Walton (1972, ‘73, ‘74) and Ralph Sampson (1981, ‘82, ‘83), Michael Jordan (1984), Kevin Durant (2007) and last year’s winner, Trey Burke of Michigan. The Naismith Trophy Men’s College Player of the Year presented by AT&T is the most prestigious national award presented annually to college basketball’s best player. For more information, visit

Founded during the 1956-57 season, the Atlanta Tipoff Club, an Atlanta Sports Council property, is committed to promoting the game of basketball and recognizing the outstanding accomplishments of those who make the game so exciting. The Atlanta Tipoff Club administers the Naismith Awards, which have become the most prestigious national honors in all of college basketball. Named in honor of Dr. James Naismith, inventor of the game of basketball, the Naismith Trophy presented by AT&T recognizes the top Men’s and Women’s College Basketball Players of the Year. Other Naismith Awards are presented to the Men’s and Women’s College Basketball Coaches of the Year, Boy’s and Girl’s high school basketball players and coaches of the year, high school scholar-athletes, basketball officials, student sections and overall contributors to the game. The Naismith Trophy was first presented to UCLA’s Lew Alcindor (later known as Kareem Abdul-Jabbar) in 1969.