Uploaded Ad
article image
Courtesy: Duke Sports Information
Grant Hill
Grant Hill Among 2014 Hall of Fame Class
Courtesy: Duke Sports Information
Release: 03/25/2014
BDN+ Premium Content
Related Links

DURHAM, N.C. – Duke’s Grant Hill, a three-time All-America selection and two-time NCAA Champion, along with two-time national player of the year Shaquille O’Neal (LSU) and Louisville’s Darrell Griffith headline the National Collegiate Basketball Hall of Fame induction class of 2014. Joining them for enshrinement will be NAIA star Zelmo Beaty (Prairie View A&M), NCAA Final Four coaches Dale Brown (LSU) and Gary Williams (Maryland) as well as contributors Howard Garfinkel, the founder of Five-Star Basketball Camp, and Glenn Wilkes Sr., long-time coach at Stetson and prolific author of basketball coaching books.

The Class of 2014 will be inducted into the National Collegiate Basketball Hall of Fame Sunday, November 23, 2014, at the Arvest Bank Theatre at the Midland in Kansas City as part of a three-day celebration of college basketball. Tickets will go on sale beginning in September. For more information, follow @CBHOF on Twitter or visit

The Hall of Fame is located in the College Basketball Experience (CBE), a world-class entertainment facility adjacent to Sprint Center in Kansas City. The CBE Hall of Fame Classic will take place November 24-25 at Sprint Center. The four teams participating are Alabama, Arizona State, Iowa State and Maryland. Tickets for the Classic are available now and can be purchased through,, by phone at 1-888-929-7849 or in person at Sprint Center Box Office.

Hill played at Duke from 1990-94, where he helped lead the Blue Devils to two NCAA national championships. As a senior, he averaged 17.4 points and 6.9 rebounds per game to earn consensus first team All-America and ACC Player of the Year honors. Hill closed out his career as the first player in ACC history to accumulate more than 1,900 points, 700 rebounds, 400 assists, 200 steals and 100 blocks. He went on to earn Co-NBA Rookie of the Year accolades in 1995 and was a member of the 1996 U.S. Olympic Team. Hill closed out his NBA career as a six-time All-Star and three-time winner of the NBA Sportsmanship Award. He was named first team All-NBA in 1997 and was a second team selection on four other occasions.

O’Neal played three years for Brown at LSU (1989-92) and averaged 22 points, 14 rebounds and five blocks. He was a first-team All-American and national player of the year as both a sophomore and junior. Griffith played for Louisville from 1976-80 and the Cardinals won the NCAA title his senior year. He averaged 18 points, five rebounds and three assists per game and was the national player of the year in 1980. Beaty was the most valuable player of his 1962 Prairie View A&M team that won the NAIA national championship. He averaged 25 points and 20 rebounds during his career for the Panthers.

Brown won 60 percent of his games during his 25-year career at LSU (1972-97). He took the Tigers to the NCAA Final Four in 1981 and 1986 and was the national coach of the year in 1981. Williams spent 22 years as head coach at his alma mater, Maryland, winning 65 percent of his games. He led the Terrapins to the NCAA title in 2002 and was named national coach of the year.

Garfinkel founded the Five-Star Basketball Camp in 1966, which he ran through 2008. The high school camp was a springboard for many of the college and professional game’s greatest athletes and also the game’s best coaches who were clinicians throughout the years. Wilkes won 551 games in his 36 years as head coach at Stetson. A renowned clinician, he also wrote seven books about basketball coaching and personally directed his Glenn Wilkes Basketball School for 37 years.

“The Class of 2014 has a unique identity with a player-coach tandem, along with three outstanding players and a coach who led their teams to national championships,” said Reggie Minton, deputy executive director of the National Association of Basketball Coaches and chair of the Hall of Fame selection panel. “With the addition of two men devoted to developing basketball skills at summer camps for close to a half-century, we look forward to celebrating them at the induction in Kansas City in November.”

In 2006 the first class was inducted into the newly formed National Collegiate Basketball Hall of Fame. That class included the game’s inventor, James Naismith, and possibly its greatest coach in John Wooden, along with Oscar Robertson, Bill Russell and Dean Smith. Since that time, seven more classes have been inducted and have included the likes of Kareem Abdul-Jabbar, Danny Manning, Larry Bird and Earvin “Magic” Johnson.