• Store
  • Promotions - Carousel Above Header
  • Tickets
  • Auctions - Carousel Above Header
  • Duke Photo Store
  • Donate - Carousel Above Header
  • Uploaded Ad

Singler and Smith Named MVPs at Annual Team Banquet
Monday 04/15/2011  -  Duke Sports Information
Print Print    Send this article to a friend Email    Subscribe to our Rss feed   RSS   
Courtesy: Duke Photography
View larger
Smith and Singler Named Team MVPs
Related Links

DURHAM, N.C. - Senior captains Kyle Singler and Nolan Smith shared the Swett-Baylin Award for Most Valuable Player at the annual Duke Men's Basketball banquet on Friday night in Cameron Indoor Stadium.

Singler, a first team All-ACC selection, also received the Bill Krzyzewski Captains Award, Iron Duke Award for most minutes played (1,286) and was named the team's Best Defensive Player.

Smith, the 2010-11 ACC Player of the Year and 2011 ACC Tournament MVP, was also handed the Bill Krzyzewski Captains Award, Best Free Throw Percentage Award (.813) and Most Assists Award (189).

Sophomore forward Mason Plumlee was also one of the top award-winners of the evening as he collected the Dr. Deryl Hart Award as the top scholar-athlete on the team, the Best Field Goal Percentage Award (.593) and Best Rebounding Average Award (8.4).

In his second season with the Blue Devils, Ryan Kelly received the Coach's Award as the player exemplifying the commitment and values of Duke Basketball while displaying overall improvement. Kelly also earned the True Blue Award for taking the most charges on the team with 19 this year.

Freshman Tyler Thornton was given the Glenn E. "Ten" Mann Award as the reserve contributing the most to team morale.
Three other awards were handed out Friday night. Sarah Helfer and Pat Thompson received the Gopal Varadhan Senior Manager Award, Hattie Cutcliffe was given the Harry Rainey Spirit Award and Paige Bartley was the recipient of the Charles Hogan Memorial Band Award. 

2010-11 Duke Men's Basketball Award Winners
Swett-Baylin Award (Most Valuable Player): Kyle Singler & Nolan Smith
Dr. Deryl Hart Award (Top Scholar-Athlete): Mason Plumlee
Glenn E. "Ted" Mann, Jr., Award (Reserve Contributing Most to Team Morale): Tyler Thornton
Coach's Award (Player Exemplifying the Commitment and Values of Duke Basketball while Displaying Overall Improvement): Ryan Kelly
Iron Dukes Award (Most Minutes Played): Kyle Singler
Bill Krzyzewski Captains' Awards: Kyle Singler & Nolan Smith
Best Field Goal Percentage Award: Mason Plumlee
Best Rebounding Average Award: Mason Plumlee
Best Free Throw Percentage Award: Nolan Smith
Most Assists Award: Nolan Smith
Best Defensive Player Award: Kyle Singler
Gopal Varadhan Senior Manager Award: Sarah Helfer & Pat Thompson
Harry Rainey Spirit Award: Hattie Cutcliffe
Charles Hogan Memorial Band Award: Paige Bartley


DVDsSocial MediaIronDukesStoresMobileAuction
Back to Men's Basketball

Proud Sponsor
click to read more
Duke Spirit Jerseys - $49.95
click to read more
Buy Exclusive Sports & Campus Pics
Official Duke Photo Store
click to read more
Buy Official DVD 5-Pack for $118.95
Duke Championship DVD 5-Pack
click to read more
Bid on Signed Photos & More
Duke Online Auctions
click to read more
Shop Here - Duke eSTORE
Replay Images Soon