Uploaded Ad
Wojo to be Inducted Into Baltimore Catholic League Hall of Fame
Courtesy: Duke Sports Information
Release: 05/19/2011
article image
Duke associate head coach Steve Wojciechowski
Photo Courtesy: Duke Photography
BDN+ Premium Content
Related Links

DURHAM, N.C. - Duke associate head coach Steve Wojciechowski will be among 14 honorees in the inaugural induction class of the Baltimore Catholic League Hall of Fame as announced recently by league commissioner Jack Degele and former commissioner Jim Smith.

The selection committee of Jerry Savage, Mark Amatucci, Bryan Moorhouse, Dan Popera, Cokey Robertson and William Wells selected 14 honorees including former players, coaches and athletic directors who have made the league one of the finest in the country.

Savage and the 14 honorees will be joined in the first class by the late Ray Mulls of Gibbons, former Mount St. Joe coach and athletic director John Plevyak Sr. and Br. D. John Smith of Calvert Hall. The 14 players, Savage, Mulls, Plevyak and Smith will be honored at the Rolling Road Country Club in Catonsville, Md., at 6 p.m. Thursday, May 19.
Wojciechowski attended Cardinal Gibbons School, and in 1994, along with Josh Davalli and Jerard Rucker, led coach Ray Mullis to the last of his six Catholic League championships. He was named a McDonald's All-American and also claimed MVP honors of the BCL tournament in 1994. Wojciechowski was also a soccer standout at Cardinal Gibbons.

Recruited by head coach Mike Krzyzewski, Wojo attended Duke University and led the Blue Devils to an 87-44 record. In 1998, he was named the National Collegiate Defensive Player of the Year. The Severna Park, Md., native has been a member of Krzyzewski's coaching staff for the past  12 seasons, helping the Blue Devils to two NCAA Championships and nine ACC Tournament titles.

Baltimore Catholic League Hall of Fame (inaugural class)
Larry Harrison (Towson Catholic 1975) 
Ron Holthaus (Archbishop Curley 1975) 
Pete Budko (Loyola 1977)
Tony Guy (Loyola 1978)
Quintin Dailey (Cardinal Gibbons, 1979) 
Paul Edwards (Calvert Hall, 1982)
Marc Wilson (Calvert Hall: 1982)
Duane Ferrell (Calvert Hall, 1984) 
Rodney Monroe (St. Maria Goretti, 1987)
Devin Gray (St. Frances, 1991)
Steve Wojciechowski (Cardinal Gibbons, 1994)
Mark Karcher (St. Frances, 1997)
Rudy Gay (Archbishop Spalding, 2004)
Will Thomas (Mount St. Joseph, 2004)