Uploaded Ad
article image
Courtesy: Daniel Shirey, USA TODAY Sports
Jabari Parker
Parker Named Finalist for Wooden Award
Courtesy: Duke Sports Information
Release: 03/08/2014
BDN+ Premium Content
Related Links

DURHAM, N.C. – Duke freshman Jabari Parker was named a finalist for the John R. Wooden Award Saturday and will be one of 15 student-athletes who will appear on the national player of the year award ballot.

Parker, a 6-8, 235-pound forward, ranks second in the ACC with 18.8 points per game, leads the conference with 9.0 rebounds per game and 13 double-doubles and ranks third with a .484 field goal percentage. He leads Duke in both points and rebounds per game and is attempting to become the first freshman in Duke basketball history to lead the team in both categories.

Parker is also a finalist for the Naismith Trophy and Oscar Robertson Trophy as well as the Wayman Tisdale Award, which goes to the top freshman in college basketball. The Chicago, Ill., native has led Duke to a 23-7 record overall and a 12-5 mark in conference play while on pace to set Duke freshman records for points per game and double-doubles.

The Wooden Award was created in 1976 and is the most prestigious individual honor in college basketball. Duke has had five winners of the award, including Christian Laettner (1992), Elton Brand (1999), Shane Battier (2001), Jason Williams (2002) and J.J. Redick (2006). Other winners of the award include Larry Bird (1979), Michael Jordan (1984), Tim Duncan (1997) and Kevin Durant (2009).

Parker is one of three ACC players on this year’s ballot, joining Syracuse’s Tyler Ennis and C.J. Fair. The ACC’s three selections tied The American Conference for the most from any league. Parker is also one of four freshmen on the list, joining Ennis, Julius Randle (Kentucky) and Andrew Wiggins (Kansas).

2013-14 Wooden Award Finalists

Name  Ht.  Yr.  Pos.  School  Conference
Kyle Anderson  6-9  So.  G/F  UCLA  Pac-12
Cleanthony Early  6-8  Sr.  Wichita State  Missouri Valley
Tyler Ennis  6-2  Fr.  Syracuse  ACC
C.J. Fair  6-8  Sr.  Syracuse  ACC
Gary Harris  6-4  So.  Michigan State  Big Ten
Nick Johnson  6-3  Jr.  Arizona  Pac-12
Sean Kilpatrick  6-4  Sr.  Cincinnati  The American
Doug McDermott*#  6-8  Sr.  Creighton  Big East
Shabazz Napier  6-1  Sr.  G Connecticut  The American
Jabari Parker  6-8  Fr.  Duke  ACC
Casey Prather  6-6  Sr.  Florida  SEC
Julius Randle  6-9  Fr.  Kentucky  SEC
Russ Smith  6-0  Sr.  Louisville  The American
Nik Stauskas  6-6  So.  Michigan  Big Ten
Andrew Wiggins  6-8  Fr.  Kansas  Big 12