Uploaded Ad
article image
Courtesy: Michelle Pettit
Duke Trio Named Teawaaraton Award Nominees
Courtesy: Duke Sports Information
Release: 04/26/2014
BDN+ Premium Content
Related Links

DURHAM, N.C.—The Duke men’s lacrosse trio of Jordan Wolf, Deemer Class and Myles Jones were selected as three of the 28 nominees for the 2014 Tewaaraton Award the Tewaaraton Foundation announced recently. Five finalists will be chosen from this list and honored May 29 in Washington, D.C.

Duke and Loyola both have three representatives on the nominee list, while six other schools have two selections. Two Blue Devils – Matt Danowski (2007) and Ned Crotty (2010)—have won the Tewaaraton Award. Wolf, Jones and Class also were voted to the All-ACC team last week.

One of the top scorers in Duke lacrosse history, Wolf is the first Blue Devil to earn All-ACC honors in each of his four seasons. The Wynnewood, Pa., native leads all scorers in the ACC with 47 goals and 72 points overall. He is riding a 56-game scoring streak and a 17-game goal streak and leads all active players in career goals (167) and points (273). With 25 assists this season Wolf became the fourth Blue Devil and 14th player in the ACC to register at least 100 career goals and 100 career assists. A four-time ACC Offensive Player of the Week honoree, the senior captain has eight hat tricks and has registered at least three points in 13 of his 15 outings and has three eight-point efforts in 2014.

Class, a midfielder, is having a breakout sophomore season for the Blue Devils. The Baltimore, Md., native ranks second on the team in scoring with 30 goals and 25 assists for 55 points. He currently ranks 22nd nationally in points per game and is fourth among all midfielders. Class has at least one point in 14 of 15 games this season and has 11 games with three-plus points. He had his breakthrough performance against Syracuse, scoring six goals and adding four assists for 10 points. Over the past nine games Class has 42 points from 23 goals and 19 assists.

Jones is having an outstanding sophomore campaign as a part of Duke’s talented first midfield line. A physical presence for the Blue Devils, he has 40 points from 25 goals and 15 assists this season. He has started all 15 games this season and has a goal in all but three games. The Huntington, N.Y., native has three hat tricks and dished out a career-high five assists in the win over Rutgers. Over the past six games Jones has 27 points, including six against both Syracuse and Virginia.

First presented in 2001, the Tewaaraton Award is recognized as the preeminent lacrosse award, annually honoring the top male and female college lacrosse player in the United States. Five men’s and five women’s finalists will be announced May 8 and invited to the Tewaaraton Award Ceremony. The original men’s and women’s watch lists were announced Feb. 27, with additions made March 20 and April 10, and were ultimately comprised of 66 men’s players and 58 women’s players. The selection committees are comprised of 11 men’s and 11 women’s current and former coaches.