Uploaded Ad
article image
Courtesy: Duke Photography
Head coach Jamie Green with senior Adam Sumrall
Duke Earns No. 2 Seed in NCAA Tempe Regional
Courtesy: Duke Sports Information
Release: 05/06/2013
BDN+ Premium Content
Related Links

DURHAM, N.C. -- The Duke men's golf team, No. 10 in the latest Golf World/Nike Golf Coaches' Poll, received the two-seed in the NCAA Tempe Regional as announced by the NCAA Division I Golf Committee Monday. The Blue Devils were awarded an automatic bid to the NCAA Regional after winning the 2013 ACC Championship and will travel to Tempe, Ariz. to play on the ASU Karsten Golf Course (May 16-18) to compete for a spot in the 2013 NCAA Championship.

UCLA claimed the top seed in the region followed by Duke, Georgia, Texas A&M and Clemson. Vanderbilt is the six-seed with Central Florida at No. 7 and North Carolina, Arizona State and Kennesaw State rounding out the top 10. Arizona (11th), Austin Peay (12th), New Mexico State (13th) and Lehigh round out the east regional seeding.

Glen Scher (UC Santa Barbara), Rufie Fessler (Fresno State), Cody Blick (San Jose State), Kyle Westmoreland (Air Force) and Tyler Torano (Loyola Marymount) will also be in the field as individuals.

The NCAA Tempe Regional field includes four conference champions and nine teams ranked in the top 50 of the Golfweek/Sagarin Rankings. UCLA is ranked fourth overall with Duke (No. 8), Georgia (No. 14) and Texas A&M (No. 21) also ranking in the top 25. Clemson (No. 28), Vanderbilt (No. 41), Arizona State (No. 43), North Carolina (No. 46) and Central Florida (No. 50) enter the regional among the top 50 nationally.

The ASU Karsten Golf Course (par 70, 7,002 yards) is a Pete Dye, links-style course set in the shadows of Arizona State's Sun Devil Stadium. The course opened September 15, 1989 and is rated as a four-and-half-star course by Golf Digest. Duke played the ASU Karsten GC earlier this season with a spring break match-play event against Grand Canyon College. Four Blue Devils (Brinson Paolini, Mads Soegaard, Adam Sumrall and Julian Suri) from Duke's ACC Championship lineup played in the match-play event at the venue in March.

The NCAA Tempe Regional in one of six 54-hole regional tournaments will be conducted May 16-18. Thirteen teams and ten individuals not on those teams will compete at each of three regionals while the other three regionals will have 14 teams and five individuals not on those teams. The low five teams and the low individual not on those teams from each regional will advance to the finals.

The NCAA Championship will be played May 28-June 2 at the Capital City Club – Crabapple Course in Alpharetta, Ga.

Duke has qualified for NCAA regional play in each of the last 15 seasons and has advanced to the NCAA Championship eight times in that span.

The Blue Devils are in the midst of one of the top seasons in program history with five tournament victories including the ACC Championship. Duke also has wins at the Wolfpack Spring Open, the Hootie at Bulls Bay Intercollegiate, Rod Myers Invitational and Tar Heel Intercollegiate. Eight different Blue Devils have recorded top 5 finishes with seniors Julian Suri and Adam Sumrall collecting individual. Brinson Paolini has paced Duke with top 20 finishes in all 10 stroke-play events to go along with a 71.8 stroke average and 14 rounds of under-par golf.

Duke posted a record setting performance en route to the program’s seventh ACC Championship (April 26-28). The Blue Devils set a school record for lowest 54-hole score (-25, 839) and matched the Duke mark for lowest 18-hole score (-15, 273). All five players finished in the top 20 with Sumrall (5th), Suri (T-7th) and Paolini (T-7th) placing in the top 10 overall. Paolini became just the third player in Duke history to register three top 10 finishes in ACC Championship play.

Tempe Regional - ASU Karsten Golf Course - Tempe, Ariz.

Teams [conference champions]
2. Duke [Atlantic Coast Conference]
3. Georgia
4. Texas A&M
5. Clemson
6. Vanderbilt
7. Central Florida
8. North Carolina
9. Arizona State
10. Kennesaw State
11. Arizona
12. Austin Peay State [Ohio Valley Conference]
13. New Mexico State [Western Athletic Conference]
14. Lehigh [Patriot League]

Glen Scher (UC Santa Barbara), Rufie Fessler (Fresno State), Cody Blick (San Jose State), Kyle Westmoreland (Air Force) and Tyler Torano (Loyola Marymount)