Uploaded Ad
article image
Courtesy: Duke Photography
Alessio Santoro
No. 10 Duke Nets Four Wins at Home Meet
Courtesy: Duke Sports Information
Release: 02/08/2014
BDN+ Premium Content
Related Links
DURHAM, N.C. – The No. 10 Duke men’s fencing team went 4-1 at the Duke Home Meet on the strength of undefeated performances from the epees and saber squads Saturday in Card Gym.

Led by a near flawless 13-1 performance by senior Alessio Santoro and a 9-1 day from Dylan Nollner, the epees went undefeated in Duke’s victories over Air Force (17-10), MIT (19-8), North Carolina (19-8) and Johns Hopkins (18-9). In Duke’s lone loss to Brandeis (12-15), both the epees and sabers won their respective bouts.

The 4-1 team performance comes on the heels of the Northwestern Duals where Duke upset No. 4 Notre Dame and No. 10 Stanford. The four wins improve Duke’s season record to 19-6 on the year.

Duke freshman Christopher Monti turned in a 10-3 record in leading the sabers to a 5-0 performance. He ended the day with wins in eight of his final nine bouts. Sophomore Charles Copti also contributed with an 8-4 mark.

In foil action, Rod Shayesteh led the way with eight wins while Chris Sullivan went 4-0 in spot duty and freshmen Joseph Lam and Alexander Szilagyi combined to go 12-8.

Day two of the Duke Home Meet begins Sunday at 8 a.m. and will pit the Duke women’s team against Air Force, MIT, North Carolina, Brandeis and Johns Hopkins.

Duke Men’s Fencing Results
Duke Home Meet
Feb. 8, 2014
Durham, N.C. (Card Gym)
Duke 17, Air Force 10
Epee: V, 6-3
Foil: V, 6-3
Saber: V, 5-4
Duke 19, MIT 8
Epee: V, 5-4
Foil: V, 6-3
Saber: V, 8-1
Duke 19, North Carolina 8
Epee: V, 6-3
Foil: V, 8-1
Saber: V, 5-4
Brandeis 15, Duke 12
Epee: V, 5-4
Foil: D, 1-8
Saber: V, 6-3
Duke 18, Johns Hopkins 9
Epee: V, 8-1
Foil: D, 3-6
Saber: V, 7-2
Men’s Epee (5-0)
Edward Chen (7-8)    
Dylan Nollner (9-1)
Alessio Santoro (13-1)
Ted Cho (1-4)     
Jake Wiener (0-1)
Men’s Foil (3-2)
Joseph Lam (7-5)
Rod Shayesteh (8-5)
Alexander Szilagyi (5-3)
Chris Sullivan (4-0)
Michael DeVito (0-5)
Ethan Yu (1-2)
Men’s Saber (5-0)
Eugene Chung (7-5)
Charles Copti (8-4)
Christopher Monti (10-3)
Brian Cucinelli (2-1)
Nick Carothers (2-1)
Timothy Evans (1-1)