Uploaded Ad
article image
Courtesy: Duke Photography
ACC Announces New Rowing Championship Format
Courtesy: Atlantic Coast Conference
Release: 04/16/2014
BDN+ Premium Content
Related Links

GREENSBORO, N.C.—The Atlantic Coast Conference will hold a two-day Rowing Championship for the first time in its history, ACC Commissioner John Swofford announced today.

The decision to go to a two-day format was made by a vote of the league’s member institutions at the ACC’s Annual April Meetings in Greensboro. The 2014 Championship will be held Friday, May 16 and Saturday, May 17 on Lake Hartwell in Clemson, S.C.

With Syracuse and Notre Dame competing for the ACC title this spring, eight ACC teams will participate in the Championship for the first time.

Two heats will be held on Friday beginning at 6 p.m. in each of the four Championship events: First Varsity Eight, Second Varsity Eight, First Varsity Four and Third Varsity Eight.  The Third Varsity Eight competition is also new, replacing the previous Novice Eight event in the Championship.

Finals events—both Petite Finals and Championship Finals for each event—will be held on Saturday, May 17, beginning at 8 a.m. and concluding around 9:20 a.m. with awards ceremonies scheduled to follow at 9:40 a.m.

The ACC Rowing finals on Saturday will be streamed live by the ACC Digital Network.  There is no charge for admission to the ACC Rowing Championship.

The 2014 ACC Rowing Championship will be the 15th annual ACC event and the 11th hosted by Clemson on Lake Hartwell. This year’s regatta is likely to feature four nationally-ranked rowing teams including Virginia, ranked fourth nationally in this week’s Collegiate Rowing Coaches Association poll, Notre Dame, ranked ninth nationally, and Syracuse and Clemson, who are both tied for 18th.

Duke has earned a top-three finish in 12 of the past 14 ACC Championships, including a third-place overall finish in 2013. Virginia has won 13 of the first 14 ACC Rowing Championships, including the last four, which have all been held on Lake Hartwell. Clemson is the only other school to have won an ACC Rowing Championship, having captured the title in 2009. Notre Dame enters the league this year having won 10 consecutive BIG EAST Rowing titles.

The complete schedule of the Championship follows below.

Friday, May 16
Time            Event
6:00 p.m.    III Varsity Eight (Heat 1)
6:10 p.m.    III Varsity Eight (Heat 2)
6:20 p.m.    Varsity Four (Heat 1)
6:30 p.m.    Varsity Four (Heat 2)
6:40 p.m.    II Varsity Eight (Heat 1)
6:50 p.m.    II Varsity Eight (Heat 2)
7:00 p.m.    I Varsity Eight (Heat 1)
7:10 p.m.    I Varsity Eight (Heat 2)
Saturday, May 17
8:00 a.m.    III Varsity Eight (Petite Final)
8:10 a.m.    III Varsity Eight (Grand Final)
8:20 a.m.    Varsity Four (Petite Final)
8:30 a.m.    Varsity Four (Grand Final)
8:40 a.m.    II Varsity Eight (Petite Final)
8:50 a.m.    II Varsity Eight (Grand Final)
9:00 a.m.    I Varsity Eight (Petite Final)
9:10 a.m.    I Varsity Eight (Grand Final)
9:40 a.m.    Awards Ceremony