Uploaded Ad
Duke Rowing to Compete in 2011 ACC Championships
Courtesy: Duke Sports Information
Release: 04/21/2011
article image
Photo Courtesy: Duke Photography
BDN+ Premium Content
Related Links

DURHAM, N.C. - After an outstanding showing at the Knecht Cup, the Duke women's rowing team will head to Clemson, S.C., to compete in the 2011 ACC Championships on Saturday, April 23.  

The Blue Devils have drawn a three seed in both the varsity eight and second varsity eight, and in a move up from last season, the Devils picked up the number three seed in the varsity four at the conference championships. The Duke rowers also drew the number four seed in the novice eight race.

Racing will begin at 9 a.m. on Lake Hartwell with the varsity four and will continue until 10 a.m. with the final race being the varsity eight.

Coming off of a fourth place finish at the Knecht Cup, the Blue Devils have switched up their varsity eight boat to include coxswain Justine Hong, Kathryn Lowry, Katie Burke, Emily Theys, Rory Erickson-Kulas, Grace Cassidy, Laura Sciarrino, Alex Japhet and Steffi Rosser.

In the second varsity eight, Duke will use the same line-up (minus a different coxswain) as they did in the Knecht Cup, including coxswain Caroline Kiritsy, Laura Guth, Breanna Briede, Kathy Smithwick, Lauren Lashmet, Katy Gregor, Sydney Johnson, JJ Englander and Tori Arendt.

In their strongest performance at the Knecht Cup, Duke will use the same team of (coxswain) Sarah Baker, Nancy McKinstry, Lissa Glynn, Shannon Sims, and Joline Doedens to power through the varsity four.

Duke has clinched a top-three finish in nine of the last ten ACC Championships. For live results, and video coverage of the ACC Rowing Championships on Saturday, visit: