Uploaded Ad
article image
Courtesy: Duke Sports Information
Duke Takes Third at ACC Rowing Championship
Courtesy: Duke Sports Information
Release: 05/12/2013
BDN+ Premium Content
Related Links

CLEMSON, S.C. – Duke placed second in the varsity eight and varsity four and took third overall at the ACC Rowing Championship Sunday morning on Lake Hartwell.

Sixth-ranked Virginia captured its fourth consecutive league title with 60 points. Clemson followed in second place with 43 points, just edging Duke’s 41 points that earned the Blue Devils their fourth straight top-three finish. Miami (27 points), Boston College (23 points) and North Carolina (16 points) rounded out the final three spots.

"It was a great race weekend for us," said Duke head coach Robyn Horner, who has led the Blue Devils to top-three finishes in 12 of the last 14 ACC Championships. "The varsity four and varsity eight executed their race plans really well into a strong headwind. It was exciting to have our best races of the season happen at ACC's."

Duke seniors Emily Theys and Laura Sciarrino, both four-year starters in Duke’s varsity eight, earned All-ACC honors, while freshman Katie Dukovich, also a fixture of the V8, was named the ACC Freshman of the Year. The All-ACC award is the third for Theys and first Sciarrino, while Dukovich is the first Blue Devil to earn league freshman of the year honors. Theys is only the third rower in Duke history to earn All-ACC honors three times, joining Alex Japhet (2008, 2009, 2010, 2011) and Joanna Hingle (2001, 2002, 2003).

“We’ve seen the boat grow over the last four years,” said Theys, speaking about she and Sciarrino’s four years in Duke’s varsity eight. “We were talking last night about how we’d never had a really good ACC Championship race. We decided that was going to be our goal, to make today the best it can possibly be.”

Virginia won all four races, but Duke placed second in the varsity eight and varsity four to notch multiple runner-up finishes for the first time since the 2006 ACC Championship. Duke’s 41 total points tied for the third most in program history since Duke’s 2000 debut at the league championship.

Theys, Sciarrino and Dukovich along with coxswain Caroline Kiritsy and rowers Claire Vannelli, Alex Stonehill, Tara Dalton, Grace Cassidy and Hannah Hewitt powered the varsity eight to a time of 6:54.35, trailing only Virginia (6:46.08) in the event’s premier race. Duke edged Clemson (6:57.47) for the runner-up spot, marking the second time in three races this season that the Blue Devils have topped the 14th-ranked Tigers in the varsity eight.

“In the first half of the race, were down a few seconds, but we trusted our race time from practice over the last two weeks,” Theys said. “By the time we had 750 to go, we started moving on (Clemson). [Coxswain] Caroline [Kiritsy] made great calls for the seniors, and we just felt a surge after that. BY the time we got to 500 we were even, and we just laid the hammer down from there.”

Duke also beat all but Virginia in the varsity four as senior Sarah Baker coxed the crew of fellow senior Katie Burke, Caroline Williams, Sophia Staal and Nicole Antoine to a time of 7:36.14. The Blue Devils finished less than two seconds ahead of Clemson (7:38.06) which had won that event last season.

In the second varsity eight, seniors Sydney Johnson and Victoria Tsamis and coxswain Simone Pitre, Dana Lerro, Sophia Blair, Allison Beattie, Karolina Wadolowska, Rachel Wolsfelt and Kaila Perez logged a time of 7:25.34 to place fourth ahead of Boston College and North Carolina.

In the novice eight, coxswain Nicole Favre, Jane McConnell, Heather Seeley, Courtney Bibbs, Mahsa Taskindoust, Arielle Brackett, Lauren Musso, Ivonna Dumanyan and Lily Zheng placed fifth with a time of 7:54.45.

2013 ACC Rowing Championship
May 12, 2013
Clemson, S.C. (Lake Hartwell)


Team—1. Virginia, 60; 2. Clemson, 43; 3. Duke, 41; 4. Miami, 27; 5. Boston College, 23; 6. North Carolina, 16.

First Varsity Four—1. Virginia, 7:27.16; 2. Duke, 7:36.14; 3. Clemson, 7:38.06; Boston College, 7:51.59; 5. North Carolina, 7:56.93; 6. Miami, 7:58.10.

Novice Eight—1. Virginia, 7:18.61; 2. North Carolina, 7:30.24; 3. Clemson, 7:33.01; 4. Boston College, 7:35.13; 5. Duke, 7:54.45; 6. Miami, 8:13.53.

Second Varsity Eight—1. Virginia, 7:05.17; 2. Clemson, 7:11.98; 3. Miami, 7:21.46; 4. Duke, 7:25.34; 5. Boston College, 7:32.11; 6. North Carolina, 7:41.18.

First Varsity Eight—1. Virginia, 6:46.08; 2. Duke, 6:54.35; 3. Clemson, 6:57.47; 4. Miami, 7:04.19; 5. Boston College, 7:14.18; 6. North Carolina, 7:29.18.



ACC Crew of the Year—Virginia First Varsity Eight (Coxswain: Sarah Jordan (Jr., Flourtown, Pa.); Stroke: Constanze Duell (Jr., Oberschleissheim, Germany), 7-Seat: Chandler Lally (So., Bryn Mawr, Pa.); 6-Seat: Kristine O'Brien (Sr., Massapequa Park, N.Y.; 5-Seat: Sarah Cowburn (Gr., Worcestershire, England); 4-Seat: Fiona Schlesinger (So., Surrey, UK); 3-Seat: Susanne Grainger (Sr., London, Ontario); 2-Seat: Elle Murray (Jr., Tampa, Fla.); Bow: Lizzy Youngling (So., Westport, Conn.).

ACC Freshman of the Year—Katie Dukovich (Pittsburgh, Pa.), Duke

ACC Coach of the Year—Kevin Sauer, Virginia

All-ACC Team: Coxswain—Sarah Jordan, Virginia (Jr., Flourtown, Pa.); Kristine O’Brien, Virginia (Sr., Massapequa Park, N.Y.); Sarah Cowburn, Virginia (Gr., Redditch, England); Suzanne Grainger, Virginia (Sr., London, Ontario, Canada); Fiona Schesinger, Virginia (So., N. Malden, Surrey, England); Carolina Hackler, Clemson (So., Dresden, Germany); Giulia Longatti, Clemson (So., Como, Italy); Milena Heure, Clemson (Fr., Leer, Germany); Emily Theys, Duke (Sr., Stoughton, Wis.); Laura Sciarrino, Duke (Sr., Buffalo, N.Y.); Katalin Horvath, Miami (Sr., Gyor, Hungary); Breanna Hayton, Miami (Victoria, British Columbia, Canada); Ellen Burr, Boston College (Cazenovia, N.Y.); Alex McClelland, North Carolina (Sr., Winter Park, Fla.).