Uploaded Ad
article image
Courtesy: Duke Photography
Grace Cassidy Senior Profile
Courtesy: Duke Sports Information
Release: 04/17/2014
BDN+ Premium Content
Related Links

DURHAM, N.C. -- Recently, sat down with senior Grace Cassidy to learn more about the New Farfield, Conn., native. What is your favorite ‘on the water’ memory?
Grace Cassidy: It would probably be San Diego last year in our heat, we did some last-minute switch-ups in the boat and I was stroking. It was the first race I had ever stroked and it was just a really exciting race and we beat Wisconsin which I never thought I would do in my college career. What is your favorite ‘off the water’ memory? 
GC: Being able to be in a sorority while being on my team. Spending time with my non-team friends, so I am glad that the sport allowed that. What sorority? 
GC: Tri-Delta. I got unexpectedly very involved, so that is probably my favorite off the field memory. Are any of your other teammates there or are you the only one? 
GC: When I joined, there was one senior on my team when I was a freshman, she was in it and so was a junior and they were my two favorite people on the team. There still are a couple of other Tri-Delts on the rowing team so it is like a fun mix to see what rowers join and it always ends up really good. It was nice because that senior and I had a really special bond and it was cool that we had that added friendship totally off of the team. So that preceded your being in a sorority, your friendship with her? 
GC: She was one of my close teammates and I looked up to her a lot and then I joined her sorority and we still keep in touch all of the time. She is still rowing, actually. She lives in Seattle, which is basically where she is from. Name three things that motivate you to perform.
GC: My teammates and knowing how hard they work, so I might as well do well for them. Probably just being a female athlete in general motivates me to perform as well as the support I have from my family. Name three places you would travel.
GC: Probably back to the Vatican. Wherever my mom is just to be with her. And maybe Courtsmith, New Hampshire. It is about an hour outside of Boston; it is a cool little port city. Name three things you would do if you had a day off (no class).
GC: I usually sleep and maybe go for a leisurely run. What are three of your favorite restaurants in Durham? 
GC: Cosmic. Tijuana Flats. A lot of my teammates go a lot because it is a good place for a group. I guess Chipotle, and those are the three Mexican places so I feel like a freaking weirdo. Our team just loves Mexican food. Name three things you would like to do in the next ten years. 
GC: Get a cat of my own. Write something substantial, not like a book but do some writing. Get a job.