Uploaded Ad
article image
Courtesy: Duke Photography
Elizabeth Howell Senior Profile
Courtesy: Duke Sports Information
Release: 04/24/2014
BDN+ Premium Content
Related Links

DURHAM, N.C. -- Recently, sat down with senior Elizabeth Howell to learn more about the Atlanta, Ga., native. What are your three favorite things about being a Duke student- athlete?
Elizabeth Howell: Athletics has surrounded me with motivated, like-minded peers who have really challenged me over the past four years. It has given me the support of so many mentors and friends who have really defined my Duke experience. And athletics has given me something to be really excited about and motivated towards, and I think that sense of purpose has become incredibly important for me. What is your favorite “on-the-water” memory?
EH: I used to always sit seven seat in the boat, so my favorite memories have come from the stroke seats who sit in front of me. Allison Beattie and Karolina Wadolowska have been two of my favorite people to work behind, and we’ve had a lot of good times together in that stern pair. What is your favorite “off-the-water” memory?
EH: Our senior class has grown really, really close. There are only five of us, which I think has made our bond really meaningful. All of the time that I get to spend with them in and outside of practice has been really special. What’s your late night snack?
EH: A lot of orange, but it’s baby carrots and Cheetos. Very strange combination, but it does the trick. What are three things you’d like to do in the next ten years?
EH: Graduate from medical school, perform a surgery, and summit Mt. Kilimanjaro. Have you already taken the MCAT?
EH: No, I’m doing that in the fall! I’m taking two years off. What are you going to do in those two years?
EH: Hopefully work, I’m trying to work in Duke Hospital for one or both of the years, so we’ll see. What are three places you’d travel, anywhere in the world?
EH: Peru, India, and Italy. What are your three favorite places to eat in Durham?
EH: Foster’s, Nanataco, and Pop’s. When you were a kid, what did you want to be when you grew up?
EH: I have a drawing of myself from when I was like five, and it says “when I grow up, I want to be an explorer.” I have on these huge hiking boots and a net and I’m trying to catch some wild animal…so I guess an explorer, whatever that means. Name three people, dead or alive, that you’d like to have dinner with if you could.
EH: Yvon Chouinard, Regina Benjamin, and Gabriel Garcia-Marquez. Not the rowdiest crew, but I think we'd have really cool conversations. Do you like the outdoors?
EH: Yes, I also served as director of Project Wild, the backpacking organization here, for a year. I like to climb, and hike, and all of those things, and it’s something I’ve been involved with for a long time, and it’s something I hope to continue after I graduate.