Uploaded Ad
article image
Courtesy: Duke Swimming & Diving
Drew Johansen and Nick McCrory
McCrory, Johansen Named ACC Diver, Coach of the Year
Courtesy: Duke Sports Information
Release: 04/04/2013
BDN+ Premium Content
Related Links

DURHAM, N.C. – The Atlantic Coast Conference announced the recipients of the 2013 ACC Swimming & Diving annual awards Thursday, with junior Nick McCrory receiving Men’s Diver of the Year honors and diving coach Drew Johansen taking home Men’s Diving Coach of the Year accolades.

McCrory was named the conference’s Men’s Diver of the Year for the third time in his career following a season which saw him win his third NCAA title on the 10-meter platform, garner All-America accolades on all three diving disciplines and become the first male diver in the history of the ACC to sweep all three events at the ACC Championships. At the ACC Championships, he took first in the 1-meter, 3-meter and platform competitions while breaking his own conference record on the 3-meter board to earn the ACC Men’s Most Valuable Diver honors for the third time in as many years. McCrory then went on to win the 1-meter and platform events at the NCAA Zone B Diving Championships, and turned in a pair of runner-up finishes on the springboards at the NCAA Championships before capturing his third national championship on the platform.

A nine-time All-American across the three diving disciplines, McCrory has advanced to the championship final of every event he has competed in at the NCAA Championships. He has also won seven ACC diving crowns in his career, making him the most decorated diver – male or female – in the history of the conference. Duke’s most successful diver on the men’s side and the men’s program’s only individual national champion, McCrory also captured an Olympic bronze medal in synchronized platform diving along with fellow American David Boudia at the 2012 London Games prior to the start of the 2012-13 campaign.

Johansen was recognized as the ACC Men’s Diving Coach of the Year, guiding McCrory and senior Jordan Long to qualify for the NCAA Championships. He mentored McCrory through a banner year of competition on all three diving disciplines and also coached Long to the best year of his career, as he finished eighth on the 3-meter board at the ACC Championships and qualified to the NCAA Championships for the first time in his career. Under Johansen’s tutelage, six Duke divers – four men and two women – scored for the Blue Devils at the ACC Championships.

Prior to the start of the 2012-13 season, Johansen served as the head coach of the United States Diving team at the 2012 London Olympic Games, where the team won four medals in a historic showing. Two of those medals came in synchronized diving, including a silver by Duke’s Abby Johnston and Kelci Bryant in the women’s 3-meter synchronized event and a bronze by McCrory and Boudia in the men’s synchronized platform competition. Boudia also collected a gold medal individually on the platform.

The 10 recipients of the 2013 ACC Swimming & Diving awards were determined by a vote of the league’s head coaches. To see the complete list of award winners, visit