Uploaded Ad
article image
Courtesy: Brendan Maloney
Nunzio Esposto and Nick McCrory
McCrory, Esposto Tabbed ACC Diver, Coach of the Year
Courtesy: Duke Sports Information
Release: 04/03/2014
BDN+ Premium Content
Related Links

DURHAM, N.C. – The ACC announced the recipients of the 2014 conference swimming and diving annual awards Thursday, Apr. 3, with senior Nick McCrory taking home Men’s Diver of the Year honors and diving coach Nunzio Esposto receiving Men’s Diving Coach of the Year accolades.

McCrory was named the conference Men’s Diver of the Year for the fourth time in his career, becoming the third student-athlete in ACC history to earn the same top performer of the year award on four occasions. He claimed his fourth NCAA title in platform diving at the 2014 NCAA Division I Men’s Swimming and Championship last week in Austin, Texas, engineering a thrilling comeback in the event final to become the first athlete to win four national championships in that discipline. The Chapel Hill, N.C., native also garnered All-America honors in the one-meter springboard diving competition with a third-place finish, giving him a total of 11 All-America accolades over his four seasons.

The 2013-14 campaign also saw McCrory sweep the three diving disciplines at the ACC Championship for the second consecutive year and earn ACC Most Valuable Male Diver recognition for the fourth time in his career to become the only four-time winner of that title. He concluded his final conference meet the most decorated diver in the history of the ACC with 10 diving crowns and broke his own program and conference record on the three-meter board with an award of 531.00.

Duke’s most successful diver on the men’s side and the men’s program’s only individual national champion, McCrory also captured an Olympic bronze medal in synchronized platform diving along with fellow American David Boudia at the 2012 London Games prior to the start of the 2012-13 season.

Coming off of his first season as a member of the Duke coaching staff, Esposto was recognized as the ACC Men’s Diving Coach of the Year. He mentored McCrory through a banner year of competition which culminated in the senior’s fourth NCAA title on the platform and a pair of All-America accolades. Under Esposto’s tutelage, Duke’s six divers accounted for 125 points at the ACC Championships. Four of the Blue Devil divers competed at the 2014 NCAA Zone B Championships, with McCrory winning the one-meter and platform events.

Esposto is the second consecutive Duke diving coach to garner the conference honor, as Drew Johansen was selected the ACC Men’s Diving Coach of the Year for the 2012-13 season.