Uploaded Ad
article image
Courtesy: Tim Binning,
Christine Wixted and Nick McCrory
Swimming & Diving Garners Scholar All-America Honors
Courtesy: Duke Sports Information
Release: 07/18/2013
BDN+ Premium Content
Related Links

DURHAM, N.C. – Nine members of the Duke swimming and diving program have earned Scholar All-America recognition for the 2012-13 season, as announced Thursday by the College Swimming Coaches Association of America (CSCAA). In addition, both the Blue Devil men and women received Scholar All-America team honors for the spring semester.

Senior diver Nick McCrory was named to the CSCAA NCAA Division I Men’s Scholar All-America First Team for the second time in his career after also collecting CSCAA All-America accolades in May. The 2012 Olympic bronze medalist captured his third NCAA title in the men’s platform diving event and turned in a pair of runner-up finishes on the 1-meter and 3-meter springboards to garner All-America honors in all three events.

Senior swimmer Christine Wixted garnered CSCAA NCAA Division I Women’s Scholar All-American First Team recognition following her first career appearance at the NCAA Championships in 2013. A four-time All-Atlantic Coast Conference performer, Wixted competed in the trials of the 100 and 200-yard breaststroke at the national championship meet.

The Scholar All-America award is presented to college and university swimmers and divers who have achieved a cumulative grade point average of 3.5 or higher for the semester or cumulative average, and have qualified for and competed at their respective national championship.

The CSCAA also presents Honorable Mention Scholar All-America awards to college and university swimmers and divers who have achieved a grade point average of 3.5 or higher for the semester and cumulative average and have achieved a ‘B’ time standard.

Junior Megan McCarroll and sophomores Jaimee Gundry and Kendall McClenney earned honorable mention awards while 2013 graduates Ben Hwang, Ted Minturn and Evan Schwartz and senior Hunter Knight were tabbed to the men’s honorable mention team.

Hwang, McCarroll and Wixted also received All-ACC Academic Team honors for the 2012-13 season.


Duke Baseball Show | Season 5
Mon, May 21 at 11:55 AM
Baseball vs. Wake Forest Audio
Thu, May 24 at 10:45 AM
Baseball vs. Louisville Audio
Fri, May 25 at 10:45 AM